IGNORED

Gday from Australia II

Coogee Beach
Note: This thread is 5272 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi there - Matt here from Coogee Beach in the eastern suburbs of Sydney in Australia.

I'm a freelance sports journalist and golf ... well, addict might be too strong ... but it's the reason i work and why I play 18 holes then come home and watch golf on TV while reading a golf magazine and booking another round online. Last year I drove the circumference of Australia playing golf across a 15,000 mile trip, some of which is mentioned in my bodgy blog of the trip here: Eucla

Anyway, I'm coming to the US in late April and was looking to play some golf in New York, Florida and Northern California.

Wondering if there's a calendar of amateur events one can check out online, and hence plan my trip around.

Cheers, Matt

Hey, my brother spent a year at the University of Wollongong and then was an Ocean Lifeguard for a year. Is there anyone in Australia crazier than ocean lifeguards? His pictures of the surf boats were nuts!

Current Bag
Ogio Synchro cart
'07 Burner Driver, 3 Fairway, and Rescue 5
Early Titelist Cavities
200 56, Spin milled 60 , Rossa  Suzuka

Surf boat crew are among the craziest of the Surf People. And the Surf People of Wollongong - "The Gong" - are renowned crazies to start with. My uncle was a "sweep" on a surf-boat, he's the guy with the steering thing at the back that yells at the rowing blokes to row faster because a giant wave is coming.

crazy people.

Last year I drove the circumference of Australia playing golf across a 15,000 mile trip

Hey there Coogee Beach, I lived in Coogee for 8 years, loved the place.

What was the highlight of your Australian trip?? I checked out your blog and you got to some awesome spots.