Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Rules question - putting an alignment line on a ball while in play


Note: This thread is 5426 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I was playing the other day and my alignment mark I had put on the ball with a Sharpie and that little plastic dome had rubbed off mid-round.  I was on the green, marked my ball and reapplied a new line before I putted out.  As I was doing this, I wondered if this is legal.  I checked the rules and decisions and came up empty handed.  Anyone have any input on this?


Posted


Originally Posted by Vladimir Puttin'

I was playing the other day and my alignment mark I had put on the ball with a Sharpie and that little plastic dome had rubbed off mid-round.  I was on the green, marked my ball and reapplied a new line before I putted out.  As I was doing this, I wondered if this is legal.  I checked the rules and decisions and came up empty handed.  Anyone have any input on this?



That is perfectly ok.

Rule 12 says one should put an identification mark on one's ball but it does not state when, so anytime when one lifts one's ball one may mark it (provided the ball is not cleaned when not allowed).


Posted

Good to know.  Good question.

l Driver l Cleveland Hi-Bore XLS Tour Driver 9.5*
l Hybrid l Ping G-15 Hybrid Iron 17.5*
l Irons l Callaway X Tour 4-PW
l Wedges l Cleveland CG12 DSG RTG+ 54* & 60* - Odyssey Marxman Chipper 37*
l Putter l Odyssey White Hot Tour #9 l Balls l Srixon AD333

Posted

Great question, You are not allowed to alter equipment during the round, so I would think that would mean that you can't draw a NEW line, but you can of course repair equipment damaged in the normal course of play so you can redraw a line?

I can find anything in the rules specific to marking a ball though.

Driver R7 Superquad NV 55 shaft or Bridgestone J33 460 NV 75 shaft
3 and 5 Wood X
Hybrid original Fli Hi 21* or FT 22*
Irons AP2
Wedges Vokey 52* - 8 , 56* 14, 60*-7Putter California CoranodoBall TP RedGPS NeoRange Finder- Bushnell Tour V2 When Chuck Norris puts spin on the ball, the ball does not...

Posted


Originally Posted by 2bGood

Great question, You are not allowed to alter equipment during the round, so I would think that would mean that you can't draw a NEW line, but you can of course repair equipment damaged in the normal course of play so you can redraw a line?

I can find anything in the rules specific to marking a ball though.


Rules of Golf dictate that one is not allowed to change the playing characteristics of one's ball:

5-2. Foreign Material
Foreign material must not be applied to a ball for the purpose of changing its playing characteristics.

Drawing a line or marking a ball is not a breach of that Rule, or any other rule for that matter.


Posted


Originally Posted by Vladimir Puttin'

I was playing the other day and my alignment mark I had put on the ball with a Sharpie and that little plastic dome had rubbed off mid-round.  I was on the green, marked my ball and reapplied a new line before I putted out.  As I was doing this, I wondered if this is legal.  I checked the rules and decisions and came up empty handed.  Anyone have any input on this?


If you were concerned, you could have just put a new already lined ball into play

Driver Wishon 919THI 4 Wood Pure Fit w Accuflex

Ping Rapture hybrid Irons Wishon 770 CFE with Apollo Humps regular Gripmaster rubber grips 4-aw Wedges Ping MB 56 Ping Eye 2 Lob &nbsp ;Mentor Quad putter gripmaster gator grip

Bantam chipper leather grip


Posted


Originally Posted by weavej2

If you were concerned, you could have just put a new already lined ball into play


OK, I admit my rules knowledge isn't as thorough as I'd like (need to study more this winter!), but isn't this a violation of the rules?

Rules 15-1 and 15-2 explain that the player must complete play of the hole with the ball with which he began the hole unless he is proceeding under a Rule that permits him to substitute a ball, but lacking a line on the ball isn't a problem that allows for substitution.    Examples where you can substitute are lost ball or OB (Rules 26-1 and 27-1) or unplayable (Rule 28).   In Rule 16-1b the player is allowed to lift the ball from the green, but that rule doesn't permit substitution.       You can substitute after holing out, but not before.


Posted


Originally Posted by Clambake

OK, I admit my rules knowledge isn't as thorough as I'd like (need to study more this winter!), but isn't this a violation of the rules?

Rules 15-1 and 15-2 explain that the player must complete play of the hole with the ball with which he began the hole unless he is proceeding under a Rule that permits him to substitute a ball, but lacking a line on the ball isn't a problem that allows for substitution.    Examples where you can substitute are lost ball or OB (Rules 26-1 and 27-1) or unplayable (Rule 28).   In Rule 16-1b the player is allowed to lift the ball from the green, but that rule doesn't permit substitution.       You can substitute after holing out, but not before.



I'm pretty sure you can't just switch balls on the putting green... you have to start the and finish the hole with the same ball (unless it's lost or ob or something like that).  As far as drawing a line on it while it's marked on the putting green, I don't think that this would be a breach of the rules but I'm not 100% on that.

Tristan Hilton

My Equipment: 
Titleist TSR2 Driver (Fujikura Pro 2.0 TS; 10.5°) · PXG 0211 FWs (Diamana S+ 60; 15° and 21°) · PXG 0211 Hybrid (MMT 80; 22°) · Edel SMS Irons (SteelFiber i95; 5-GW) · Edel SMS Pro Wedges (SteelFiber i110; 56°, 60°) · Edel Classic Blade Putter (32") · Maxfli Tour Ball · Pinned Prism Rangefinder · SuperStroke Grips · Flightscope Mevo · TRUE Linkswear Shoes · Vessel Player V Pro 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


Originally Posted by weavej2

If you were concerned, you could have just put a new already lined ball into play

No he could not.  The ball you play from the tee cannot be changed during the play of the hole unless it is lost or it becomes unfit for play, or you are proceeding under a rule which allows substitution.  Simply changing to a different ball on the putting green because you feel like it does not qualify.

It is allowable to redraw the line if you feel that you must.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


Originally Posted by Ignorant

Rules of Golf dictate that one is not allowed to change the playing characteristics of one's ball:

5-2. Foreign Material

Foreign material must not be applied to a ball for the purpose of changing its playing characteristics.

Drawing a line or marking a ball is not a breach of that Rule, or any other rule for that matter.


I don't think there is an issue in fixing a faded line, but has an alignment line on the ball does change it playing characteristics I would think this would not be allowed mid round?

I am pretty sure you could know draw an new alignment line on your putter mid round?

Driver R7 Superquad NV 55 shaft or Bridgestone J33 460 NV 75 shaft
3 and 5 Wood X
Hybrid original Fli Hi 21* or FT 22*
Irons AP2
Wedges Vokey 52* - 8 , 56* 14, 60*-7Putter California CoranodoBall TP RedGPS NeoRange Finder- Bushnell Tour V2 When Chuck Norris puts spin on the ball, the ball does not...

Posted


Originally Posted by 2bGood

I don't think there is an issue in fixing a faded line, but has an alignment line on the ball does change it playing characteristics I would think this would not be allowed mid round?

I am pretty sure you could know draw an new alignment line on your putter mid round?


Drawing a line does not change the playing characteristics of either the ball or the club.  It doesn't affect the action of the ball in either case.  You have not modified the club, nor have you applied anything to it that would affect the movement of the ball.  Since the line on the ball is allowed under the rules, reapplying it at a point where lifting the ball is allowed does not change anything.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5426 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.