Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
andersf

Your opinions on beginners bag, please!

11 posts in this topic

Hi!

I have borrowed my friends club at the driving range a couple of times, and also at a par 3 course, and I'm hooked!

I have put together a nice bag from searching eBay, and would like to have your comments on what I've bought, and if you think it would suite an absolute beginner!

The goal has been to get a more or less complete bag without spending a fortune!

Irons

Wilson Staff Fat Shaft 3-PW

Stiff graphite shafts Wilson/UST

Winn Master Wrap (worn, intend to get them changed eventually)

I think this is the first version of the Fat Shafts.

Wilson Fat Shaft Tour Cast SW

Steel shaft Wilson/TrueTemper

Lamkin grip with Wilson logo, great shape

Price for irons: $46

Driver

Callaway Great Big Bertha Hawk Eye 9°

Regular graphite shaft UST ProForce 65 gold

Karma Golf Grip, grate shape

Price: $8

Wood

Wilson Fat Boy II Strong 5 17°

Regular graphite shaft UST ProForce 65 gold

Haven't got it yet, so I don't know about the grip.

Price: $12.99

Putter

Wilson Harmonized Mallet Putter

Don't know much about it yet, will arrive tomorrow hopefully.

Price: $6.99

Bag

Ergonomix stand bag, Walmart...

Price: $40

Also bought some used TopFlite XL3000 "superlong" balls, 24 for $4.25, and I could not resist the green golf towel with the Wilson logo for $5...

So all in all $123.23

What do you think? Do I absolutely need anything more? Do I have something that is hard to play with? I really want easy, forgiving stuff to learn with.

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Sounds good! When you are first learning it almost doesn't matter what type of equipment you use, as long at it is somewhat forgiving.

My first bag was a set of womens dunlop clubs that I picked up for $150. I played 8-10 rounds with them before I discovered they were womens clubs lol.