Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

need someone to tell me in common words what this paragraph means


Note: This thread is 5328 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

"If a ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of lifting the ball under a Rule or marking its position, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball."

Okay, here's my lame question...is removing the marker after the ball has been placed part of marking its position?

I searched this site and google trying to determine if there is a penalty when a ball moves as a result of picking up a ball marker from its position behind the ball after the ball has been placed.

I'm not lifting the ball or marking the position, I'm removing the marker after the ball is re-positioned after having marked and lifted.

I have always put the marker as close as possible to the ball, but after reading up on the topic, I see the marker can be as far away from the ball as one inch.

I'm so confused!!


Posted

I believe that, yes, lifting your marker after replacing the ball is part of the process of marking.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted

Picking up the marker is part of the marking process. If you move the ball while picking it up, you must replace the ball to it's original position without a penalty. See decision 20-1/15:

20-1/15  Meaning of "Directly Attributable" in Rules 20-1 and 20-3a

Q. What is meant by the phrase "directly attributable to the specific act" in Rules 20-1 and 20-3a?

A. In Rule 20-1 the phrase means the specific act of placing a ball-marker behind the ball, placing a club to the side of the ball, or lifting the ball such that the player's hand, the placement of the ball-marker or the club, or the lifting of the ball causes the ball or the ball-marker to move.

In Rule 20-3a the phrase means the specific act of placing or replacing a ball in front of a ball-marker, placing a club to the side of the ball-marker, or lifting the ball-marker such that the player's hand, the placement of the ball or the club, or the lifting of the ball-marker causes the ball or the ball-marker to move.

The thing with Padraig Harrington some weeks ago was, that he removed the marker, the ball moved, and then - to his impression - rolled back into it's original position. Only in HD-slow motion it was noticeable, that the ball didn't move back into it's position COMPLETELY.

greetings

michi

"I have my own golf course and Par is whatever I say it is. There's a hole which is a Par13 and yesterday I damn nearly birdied that sucker." - Willie Nelson


Posted


Originally Posted by mihi4

Picking up the marker is part of the marking process. If you move the ball while picking it up, you must replace the ball to it's original position without a penalty. See decision 20-1/15:

The thing with Padraig Harrington some weeks ago was, that he removed the marker, the ball moved, and then - to his impression - rolled back into it's original position. Only in HD-slow motion it was noticeable, that the ball didn't move back into it's position COMPLETELY.

greetings

michi

I was good until the part about Harrington.  In that case the movement of the ball couldn't be attributed to the movement of the marker right?  I didn't see it, just heard about it.  I was under the impression that the ball moved AFTER (after being the important word) he removed his marker...


Posted


Originally Posted by jwrussell

I was good until the part about Harrington.  In that case the movement of the ball couldn't be attributed to the movement of the marker right?  I didn't see it, just heard about it.  I was under the impression that the ball moved AFTER (after being the important word) he removed his marker...

From what I read, Paddy said that he bumped the ball as he was lifting his marker, but that he thought the ball had just oscillated, when in fact it had moved.  If he had returned it to its previous position, he would not have been penalized.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Okay, so in summation, any ball that moves as a result of placing or removing the ball marker is not a penalty, but the ball must be returned to its original position before the next stroke


Posted


Originally Posted by scv76

Okay, so in summation, any ball that moves as a result of placing or removing the ball marker is not a penalty, but the ball must be returned to its original position before the next stroke

As a direct result.  The wording is the key.  If you drop your marker on the ball, or drop the ball on the marker, and cause either one to move from that, then it is not considered a direct result,

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5328 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.