Jump to content
IGNORED

Achieved 3 goals in one round


Kieran123
 Share

Note: This thread is 3739 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Well I played on Friday ( Canada Day ) at a course called Canal at Delacour. I have never scored well there. My previous best round was a 93. Links style, fescue grass up to your knees, with tight fairways and greens that must be around a 12.

But I shot an 84. Which was very satisfying. The key being the fact I hit 12 fairways and never had to hack out of fescue and give up a shot.

I also got my first eagle. I actually had 2 chances for eagle in the same round. Hit a 5 iron from 220 and rolled it to about 15 feet but missed the putt, easy birdie. Then my second came from a 4 iron from 230 that went right of the green, and I pitched it in the hole from around 35 yards. Great feeling to get one, especially holing one out

And, I also beat my girlfriends stepfather who is a 6 handicap. He shot an 86 ( he had a bad round but I'll take it ). That was kinda satisfying too - has been a small goal of mine.

The course was immaculate, very fast fairways and greens. There was a steady breeze at the beginning of the round and drives were going extremely far.

I had 40 yards out on a 412 yard par 4. No dog leg, It was unreal.

Great day!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 3739 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • I think from the OP all players felt it was in the PA or the opponents would not have pushed for S&D. The question I am struggling with is making a "Reasonable Judgement" on where the ball crossed into the PA to identify where to drop.  In the OP photo the red line (possible path 1) crosses into the PA just a little past the 1st bunker (Not where the red line ends, more like half-way along the red line) and the white line (possible path 2) enters the PA past the 2nd bunker.  It's hard to tell from the diagram but is the difference between the 2 points 30-40-50 yards?  The greater the distance between the two potential areas the less likely to make a "Reasonable Judgement" of where it entered and where to drop.  I understand that without TV Cameras and Forecaddies none of know exactly where our ball may have crossed, we pick a tree, bush or other landmark and use that, but at what point does it become impossible to make a "Reasonable Judgement".  Also, I understand the problem with the word "Reasonable" but that is what I see in Rule 1.3 per below. https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=pe&section=rule&rulenum=1   Adding on, even in the OP they said it would be guess where it went out.
    • The AMC guys think (and show) the arm lock produces a more consistent stroke: My putting is so bad these days that I'll probably go try one.
    • I don't think you're going against the consensus, really, I'd certainly agree that the ball must be Known or Virtually Certain to be in the Penalty Area.  As I read the original post, I believe that @xcelrr8 WAS virtually certain that the ball was in the PA, and was asking about what his relief options were.  
    • “You talkin’ to me?” Taxi Driver
    • We had a somewhat similar situation happen at our invitational tournament a couple of years ago.  The format is one qualifying round to determine the top 32 guys and then 5 rounds of match play to get to a champion.  In one of the championship flight matches, a guy hit his ball into the woods and when it was suggested he re-tee a provisional, he was very confused.  He had no idea that if he lost his ball he could not just drop where it went into the woods.  He actually thought the playing competitors were trying to cheat him by not letting him drop where the ball went into the woods, and it took quite a bit of convincing to play his third with a stroke and distance penalty. The next year, I played in the same 4-some with him at a similar format tournament at his home course, and it helped me understand his confusion .  His course has a local rule to play all wooded areas as a lateral hazard.  I got paired with him in the match play, and found out that he had only been golfing 6-8 years and had a very quick rise from beginner to low single digit handicap - and 95%+ of his career rounds were at his home course.  He just didn't ever learn the rules of golf and assumed that his course's local rules were the rules of golf. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Donald Sutherland
      Donald Sutherland
      (75 years old)
    2. LBlack14
      LBlack14
      (56 years old)
    3. wadekilpatrick76
      wadekilpatrick76
      (45 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...