IGNORED

Help Please...

Note: This thread is 6952 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello all... this is my first post. I intend not to make it my last! I would like to thank you all in advance for any help you can provide.

Anyways on to my problem. I have been playing golf for a little over 2 years. Last year I joined my D3 college golf team. At the time, the team was really loose and the coach did not care at all. This year things changed. We got a new coach who knows about coaching, but little about the golf swing. I worked my way from 10th on the team to 7th. Last week two members ranked lower than me got kicked off the team and I went to my first tournament ever last weekend spare of the moment. Things did not go well at all (not to mention we played all D1 teams and the guy I played with shot a 69). I got off the tee very well... with a friend's nike driver I had never hit before (I cracked the head of my Taylor Made 510 a couple days ago and am trying to get the waranty honored.) Unfortunately, my irons were the culprit. I have been hitting them long and straight recently, but while playing in the tournament, my usual problems came out in full. My problems include a tendency to hit the ball fat, (which I fixed by focusing on my weight transition), but what I have not been able to fix for good is the tendency for my ball to go right and short especially with longer irons. Recently I have been trying to keep my left arm straight and making sure that my club is square at impact, but it does not work all the time. If you all could provide any tips on how to keep this problem from arrising in the future, I would be most appreciative. All I want is to swing "right" and have a consistant, dependable swing that I can trust so I don't embarass myself in tournaments. Any advice/drills to help me with my probl