Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! Γ—
Note: This thread is 6692 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
I'm pretty sure I use a strong grip. I have a strong left hand with at least 3 knuckles showing, but I have skinny fingers so I don't know how much that affects me seeing my knuckles. My left palm is basically over the top of the shaft. I also keep my left thumb off to the left side of the shaft(sometimes it accidently goes straight down the shaft). My left thumb basically sits on its right side(very uncomfortable).

For my right hand I try to place the groove of my right palm directly over my left thumb joint. My right thumb basically goes off the left of the shaft too.

I have been taught to grip the club this way. I use an overlap grip. I have also been taught to never let me thumbs go straight down the shaft. I also basically hang on to the club(or I am supposed to) with my left pinky, ring, and middle finger.

When I position my left thumb like I am supposed to, I just don't feel comfortable swinging my driver, because it keeps me from holding on with my thumb. I must say though, when I grip it this way, I'm not too confident with my swing, but it works very well...

Are there any flaws in my grip and are there any pictures of tour players left hands on the club that I can look at?

Posted
the way i've always been taught to check to see if my grip was right is to make sure the v between your pointer finger and your thumb should both be pointing at your right shoulder. Both being your right and left hand.

In the bag:
Driver: Taylor Made 09' Burner 9.5*
Woods: Nicklaus 18* Hybrid
Cobra DWS Baffler Hybrid 20*
Irons: Mizuno MX-200 4-Gw Project x 5.5Wedge: Cleveland Black Pearl CG14 54* & 58*Putter: Scotty Cameron TEI 3 Newport 2Balls: Prov1x


Posted

You might want to try using grips with a "Reminder" pattern on them. Golf Pride have had these available as options since about the beginning of time, their all time biggest seller used to be the "Victory" in all of it's incarnations and the reminder pattern is still available on their V-55 series grips. Provided that the grip has been put on the club square all you need to do is align your left thumb down the middle of the top vee then your right thumb goes along the bottom left vee line and your right forefinger goes along the bottom right vee line. Do this and your hands are always in a neutral position. Click on the attached thumbnail.

If you want a slightly stronger grip get the grips put on the club in a slightly stronger position (turned to the right) or the opposite if you want a weaker grip. If you are having lessons from a golf pro you can get him/her to install the grips for you in the position he/she thinks will be best for you.

Using this type of grip on your clubs it is all but impossible to place your hands on the club in an incorrect position.

> http://www.golfpride.com/grips/noncord/v55.aspx
> http://www.golfpride.com/grips/cord/v55_cord.aspx


Posted
yep your v's should be pointing to your right sholder... but it the positioning of your hands depends on weather your swing is 1 plane or 2 plane?

r7 quad ht
r7 ti 5 wood
duel stiff rescue
ht irons
49 deg 56 deg anser putter pro v1 ball


Posted

sounds like you've got a good grip, as the club would be in your fingers if your right hand is positioned as such.

When I grip my right hand, i put the right thumb right on top of the left thumb (although slightly lower) as if it's one long continuous thumb pointed in the same direction. Usually slightly to the left side of the grip for neutral, and both V's point to my right shoulder.

I find it's important to work on your swing with a proper grip, rather than changing your grip based on your swing.


Note: This thread is 6692 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Γ—   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

Γ—   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

Γ—   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

Γ—   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Day 6: Worked on adding some load to the putter hitting putts right hand only then finished with the gate drill. 
    • Wordle 1,495 4/6* β¬›πŸŸ¦πŸŸ¦β¬›πŸŸ¦ β¬›πŸŸ¦πŸŸ¦πŸŸ¦β¬› β¬›πŸŸ§πŸŸ§β¬›πŸŸ¦ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Although the base rules don't make this really clear, the Player must have decided to use Unplayable Ball relief before lifting the ball.  This exact situation is discussed in the Committee Procedures section of the Rules, section 6C(8).  Section 6C addresses how to rule when a Player proceeds under a Rule that does not apply.  Note that 9.4 applies, 9.4 deals with a player moving his ball when no rule allows it.   Rule 9.4 penalizes the Player for lifting his ball when not permitted by the Rules, and requires him to replace it.  Since he dropped and played from a different place, the Wrong Place penalty applies.  As for a serious breach, that would only apply if the Wrong Place gave him a really significant advantage.  Since he could have taken Unplayable Ball relief in essentially the same spot, for just 1 penalty stroke, the Wrong Place penalty of 2 strokes is enough "punishment", there's no need to consider a DQ.  
    • Wordle 1,495 4/6 ⬜⬜🟨🟨🟨 🟨🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,495 4/6 🟨🟩⬜⬜🟨 ⬜⬜⬜⬜🟨 🟨🟩⬜🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
Γ—
Γ—
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...