Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4897 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Originally Posted by Fourputt

All that said, if I'm playing in a competition, I'm not playing my stroke until you move away from the hole.  If you don't do it on your own, I will ask you to do so.  If I'm standing near the hole and am instructed to leave the flagstick in, I will immediately move away from it, both to satisfy the rule and as a point of etiquette.

I agree with this paragraph 100%.

Kevin


Posted

In my opinion, there wouldn't be a penalty to the player hitting the ball, nor the person attending the flagstick.  It's already explained and clear the person hitting the ball wouldn't incur a penalty.  And rule 17-2 says" if someone attends the flagstick without the players authority or prior knowledge".  In this case, the player had prior knowledge.  She saw her partner standing close to the flagstick, within an arms length.  Anyone standing within an arms length of the flagstick is said to be attending it, no matter anything else.  The person would have only incurred the penalty if they had walked away more than an arms length of the flagstick, and then hurried back to it and pulled it while or after the stroke was being played and the ball was still moving and might be influenced by it.


Posted
Originally Posted by Rudyprimo

In my opinion, there wouldn't be a penalty to the player hitting the ball, nor the person attending the flagstick.  It's already explained and clear the person hitting the ball wouldn't incur a penalty.  And rule 17-2 says" if someone attends the flagstick without the players authority or prior knowledge".  In this case, the player had prior knowledge.  She saw her partner standing close to the flagstick, within an arms length.  Anyone standing within an arms length of the flagstick is said to be attending it, no matter anything else.  The person would have only incurred the penalty if they had walked away more than an arms length of the flagstick, and then hurried back to it and pulled it while or after the stroke was being played and the ball was still moving and might be influenced by it.

So do you mean that I have to go and physically remove the person standing next to the flag if they do not obey my exact orders of "not lifting the flag" and at the same time move away from the flag?


Posted
Originally Posted by Rudyprimo

In my opinion, there wouldn't be a penalty to the player hitting the ball, nor the person attending the flagstick.  It's already explained and clear the person hitting the ball wouldn't incur a penalty.  And rule 17-2 says" if someone attends the flagstick without the players authority or prior knowledge".  In this case, the player had prior knowledge.  She saw her partner standing close to the flagstick, within an arms length.  Anyone standing within an arms length of the flagstick is said to be attending it, no matter anything else.  The person would have only incurred the penalty if they had walked away more than an arms length of the flagstick, and then hurried back to it and pulled it while or after the stroke was being played and the ball was still moving and might be influenced by it.

You have ignored the key words in 17-2 which affect this case.

'If ...., without the player's authority ..... removes .... the flagstick ....'

This flagstick was removed without the player's authority. 17-2 applies, not 17-1.

Attending is not the issue.


Posted
Originally Posted by Rulesman

You have ignored the key words in 17-2 which affect this case.

'If ...., without the player's authority ..... removes .... the flagstick ....'

This flagstick was removed without the player's authority. 17-2 applies, not 17-1.

Attending is not the issue.

Good call.  I was right in my assumption that once permission to remove it was denied, he could no longer be deemed to be attending the flagstick, regardless of where he was standing.  He did not have the player's authority, tacit or otherwise.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Dormie1360

On another note, if you tell someone to not attend the flag and they still stand by it, you're saying Note 1 still applies?  Never really thought about that.  If that's the case I agree it would be the player's responsibility to make sure the other player moved away from the flag.

Originally Posted by Rulesman

You have ignored the key words in 17-2 which affect this case.

'If ...., without the player's authority ..... removes .... the flagstick ....'

This flagstick was removed without the player's authority. 17-2 applies, not 17-1.

Attending is not the issue.

Looked into this further.  Rulesman is correct.  The player did not have authority, standing close to the flag does not change that.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4897 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,638 5/6* ⬜⬜🟨⬜🟨 🟨🟩⬜🟩⬜ ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,638 3/6 🟨⬜⬜⬜🟨 ⬜⬜🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • It may not have been block practice, though, is one of the main points here. You may have been serving and from the same place, but you were likely trying to do slightly different things. It seems that would only be blocked practice if you were trying to hit the same exact ball hit to you to the same exact place in the far court. I'm not sure that's as random as if the ball that you're given to hit is at different places, too, but again…
    • I played tennis in college. I thought block practice was great for serves because you were starting the point and  you could easily adjust where you wanted to place the ball based off the same motion. I equate those to tee balls. I despised block practice for groundstrokes once you reached a certain level and your fundamentals were good. To me, hitting a 100 crosscourt backhands in a row was silly because I would never do that in a match. I needed to randomize it by hitting some deep, some angled, all with different speeds and spins. I share that same thought about iron play. Because we seldom hit the same approach shots hole after hole, I prefer to practice irons randomly. 
    • Wordle 1,638 2/6* 🟨⬛🟨🟨🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.