IGNORED

Need to split up the purchase of a new set of Irons, which clubs should i get first?

Note: This thread is 3951 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm looking to get fitted for a new set of Mizuno JPX 825 or 825 Pros as I have been playing with my Taylormade 360XD irons for a few months after taking a hiatus from golf. I've gotten MUCH better with ball striking to where I expect to hit a decent shot nearly every time. I think that a new set of custom fitted clubs will do me well at this point, but I can't afford to shell out for the full set at once. I was given a good deal on club pricing and I think I can do 4-5 clubs now and get the rest of the set next month. I was thinking of starting with 5-9, then come back for the wedges and decide whether I want to get the 4-iron or not(consistency is most important right now and I like my new hybrid 22 RBZ). Thoughts?

Before I took a break for a few years I shot about 115 a round. Now I'm sitting in the low 90s after 3 months. So much help out there on YouTube.

Are they going to let you buy only a partial set? Is the total cost the same regardless of how many irons you buy at a time?

Generally buying single irons (or less than a set) is significantly more expensive per iron than purchasing the whole set.

If you can buy a set of 6 irons for 600, or three at a time for 100 each, then no reason not to go that route.

Tyler Martin

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Luckbox63

I was quoted at $75 per club for the 825's and $90 per club for the 825 Pros at my local pro shop with fitting. So I can purchase the set in any number of clubs at one time.

Interesting. In that case, as long as all the clubs have the same setup (loft, lie, shaft, etc), then I'm not sure why you couldn't get them piecemeal.

Tyler Martin