Answering the OP's actual question:
To be honest, the official was wrong no matter how you try to analyze it. Playing a stroke at a moving ball is a 2 stroke penalty, even if you did nothing else wrong. Since you also caused the ball to move prior to beginning the stroke, you were in breach of 2 rules.
Also, ask for names of a couple of people they have fitted for. See what customers say.
Where I once lived in Oklahoma, several of the better local amateurs used private-label clubs made by small shops. Drivers, FW woods and wedges were most popular items done by these shops.
My 60* used to be somewhere around 80 yards for a full swing. Somewhere along the line that changed, and my 60 started going almost exactly 65 yards. Which is weird, because every other club I have went up in distance lol.
Depends if I want to try and hit it high and land it close with no roll or if I want to hit it low and let it roll up to the pin. 58 degree for a high shot that stops instantly and maybe an 8-9 if I want to play low spin and let it roll up the green.