Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Lateral Hazard, pampas grass and cart path. Where to drop?


Note: This thread is 4454 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
I hit my ball into a lateral hazard, a river, marked with red lines. There was pampas grass inside the margin of the hazard all the way to the red hazard line. About a foot outside the hazard line was the cart path. Where do I start my two club lengths measurement for a drop? 1.The edge of the hazard margin, which will go across the cart path. 2. Or do I go to the edge of the cart path, furthest from the hazard? Do I get one club length from cart path and then an additional two club lengths for the hazard? I can't go equi distance to the other side of the river and don't want to go back to where the ball was last hit.

Posted

When taking a drop from a water hazard you always use the point where your ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, so you measure 2 club lengths from the red hazard line and drop.  After you accomplish that, your ball is in play.  Now if, after the drop, the cart path interferes with your swing, lie, or stance you treat this as a new situation.  You may then, at your option, follow Rule 24 taking relief from the cart path.  This would mean dropping within 1 club length from the Nearest Point of Relief from the cart path, no closer to the hole.

If you had to drop on the cart path when taking your 2 club relief from the hazard, your ball will probably bounce and may wind up more than two club lengths from where it struck the path, back in he hazard, closer to the hole, etc..  If this happens again on the second drop, place the ball where it struck the path.  Then proceed under the obstruction rule.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I hit my ball into a lateral hazard, a river, marked with red lines.

There was pampas grass inside the margin of the hazard all the way to the red hazard line. About a foot outside the hazard line was the cart path.

Where do I start my two club lengths measurement for a drop?

1.The edge of the hazard margin, which will go across the cart path.

2. Or do I go to the edge of the cart path, furthest from the hazard?

Do I get one club length from cart path and then an additional two club lengths for the hazard?

I can't go equi distance to the other side of the river and don't want to go back to where the ball was last hit.

You measure from the point on the hazard margin where the ball last crossed into the hazard.  From your description, the red line is the margin, so wherever the ball last crossed that line is your reference point.  You measure 2 clublengths not closer to the hole than that point and that is your drop area.  The ball when dropped must first touch the course within that arc.

It is irrelevant that the cart path is there.  If that causes interference after the drop, then you proceed under rule 24-1 for relief from an immovable obstruction.  You cannot assume that the cart path will interfere after the drop.  Both cases must be taken in sequence because different rules apply.  I also recommend reading the procedures linked here in RULE 20-2 for dropping and re-dropping, since dropping on a cart path can often result in the ball rolling more than 2 clublengths, or rolling closer to the hole than the reference point on the hazard margin.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Thanks Fourputt for the ruling. Two club lengths would have taken me across the cart path and into a grassy area. I played in a match yesterday and took one club length from the cart path. All the ladies and I thought it was okay. Guess it was wrong. Oops...now I know.

Posted
When taking a drop from a water hazard you always use the point where your ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, so you measure 2 club lengths from the red hazard line and drop.  After you accomplish that, your ball is in play.  Now if, after the drop, the cart path interferes with your swing, lie, or stance you treat this as a new situation.  You may then, at your option, follow Rule 24 taking relief from the cart path.  This would mean dropping within 1 club length from the Nearest Point of Relief from the cart path, no closer to the hole. If you had to drop on the cart path when taking your 2 club relief from the hazard, your ball will probably bounce and may wind up more than two club lengths from where it struck the path, back in he hazard, closer to the hole, etc..  If this happens again on the second drop, place the ball where it struck the path.  Then proceed under the obstruction rule.

Thanks Dormie that makes sense.


Note: This thread is 4454 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.