IGNORED

Please help! Really need advice!

Note: This thread is 3570 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey! I have been playing golf for about 2 years. I have been using some old versions of theyou Wilson reflex clubs that my dad had. I recently wanted to upgrade, and BC I really liked the clubs, I looked into the newer version of the clubs which are the Wilson reflex irons 4-GW . They are really cheap and look good, but I heard they are beginners clubs. I usually shoot about a 45-52 and I wanted to know what you thought.thank you.

Wilson Reflex irons appear on the Dick's Sporting Goods site, but not on the Wilson site. Golf blog chatter say the Reflexes - with a slot groove in the clubhead - are a re-do of a Wilson model from several years ago. In current times, Reflexes are aimed at the $200 price point.

Here's similar reissued or legacy irons offered by competitors at the sub-$400 price point. All have 4i-PW club mix:

• Callaway XHot N14 irons (a reissue of the XHot models, but with Uniflex shafts; priced at $399)
  • Nike VR_S.X irons (reissue of VR_S, with Uniflex shaft) priced at $299).
  • TaylorMade 2.0 Burner steel-shafted irons - Regular or Stiff - priced at $299. The Burners live on!

Legacy irons. .. Companies often take mainline iron designs from a prior product cycle or two, and reissue them for the beginner / casual golfer market. R&D; for the original models has been recaptured, and reissuing them - usually all with a Uniflex* shaft - allows the manufacturer to drop the price.

--------------------

* Uniflex = midweight steel shaft with flex between Regular and Stiff. It's an OK shaft for quite a few golfers, but not the ideal shaft for very many. Shafting all sets with Uniflex = big economies of scale in mfg --> lower price.

--------------------