Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
snoodlelvr

Regular vs. Stiff Flex

5 posts in this topic

Can someone explain to me the performance difference between regular and stiff flex? As a beginner, I know that it's easier for me to swing a regular flex as the shaft will be more "accomodating" to my swing. I also know that stiff flex has less room for error on the swing, but a good hit will produce greater yardage.

Two questions:
How great is the yardage difference between regular and stiff (for a driver, for example)?
How much more difficult is it to hit stiff flex clubs? Any recommended progression from moving from regular to stiff?

Thanks,
Andy

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Can someone explain to me the performance difference between regular and stiff flex? As a beginner, I know that it's easier for me to swing a regular flex as the shaft will be more "accomodating" to my swing. I also know that stiff flex has less room for error on the swing, but a good hit will produce greater yardage.

Your shaft flex is determined by your swing speed and swing tempo. A fitter will choose the setup that will benefit you the most according to your individual swing characteristics. For example, I have a fast tempo and a high swing speed so I use a stiff flex shaft to maximize distance and accuracy. However, my father has a slower swing so uses regular flex to maximize his distance and accuracy.

Bottom line is that you should be fitted for clubs.

the faster the swing speed, the stiffer the shaft needs to be to accomodate an adequate amount of control

if someone is using a shaft too stiff for them, they will lose distance but they will still probably have a good amount of control