IGNORED

Golf ball question

Note: This thread is 5119 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I started playing the Callaway I series ball last season with decent results. The thing I hate about the ball is the feel. I cant get over how sweet a Pro-V1 feels.

So. For all you ball junkies. Is there another brand comparable to the Pro-V1 that offers similar performance and a soft feel?

Thanks.

G10 Driver Grafalloy Pro Launch Blue 65 Stiff
G5 3-Wood Aldila NV65-Stiff
G15 20 Hybrid TFC stiff
I15 Irons 4-P
S/M Black Nickel 52 56 60 Marxman Mini 33" Tour B330 RXCarroll Valley Resort, Fairfield PA Rating: 72.3 Slope: 128www.carrollvalley.com

I play the Calloway tour ix and it feels like the ProV1 to me. Not really cheaper though. Bottom line, there are several ball companies making progress to compete with the Pro V1, but the price point is within $3-4/dozen of the ProV1, so why change?
Driver: Cobra ZL 3 Wood: Cleveland Launcher War Club: Burner Titanium Raylor 21degree Hybrid: Bobby Jones 24 4-PW: Ping i3's Wedges:Mizuno MP T-10 White Satin 52, 56, 60 Putter: 15 year old Odyssey Rossi Blade. Ball: Bridgestone e5 Swing Oil: Grey Goose, always in the bag.

Here are three options to consider. I've found all three to be a bit softer than the ProV1, but also have a urethane cover and comparable greenside control:

Wilson FG Tour
Maxfli Tour
Maxfli Tour LC

The LC is said to be for a slightly slower swing speed than the Tour, but I found a negligible difference in distance, chipping, and putting.

Good luck.

TW

What you perceive as feel, I'm wondering - is it a mental "feel" - like an emotional attachment – or a physical "feel".
I'm pretty sure the Pro V1 is still the "number one ball in golf", but the Callaway Tour i (s) is pretty sweet. As is the Penta TP - in my opinion. They all feel very similar.