IGNORED

Filling My First Bag

Note: This thread is 4642 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I start playing about 3 weeks when my father in law took me to a driving and i was hooked from that point on. I am currently using his travel clubs. I want to get my own bag and own set of clubs. I am a rookie when it comes to what clubs i need. All I know is what he has in his bag. I am looking not to spend to much money on this since it my first set.

Should i go through a major chain store like golfsmith or a pro shop?

What some of the good companies out there?

What clubs do i need?

I am such a rookie but we all need to start some place to master the great game.

Can anyone help me?

IMO, look for used - Craigs List, Ebay, Driving Ranges, Golf Galaxy etc. I would say try to find a used set where someone bought straight off the shelf without any custom fitting and nothing funky (like offset clubs meant to give someone a draw instead of a slice). With woods make sure they aren't Regular stifness shafts (unless your swing is really slow). When I got back into golf after a few years layoff I went with a set of Wilson Staffs which were very reasonably priced and was able to do just fine with that set before moving to a more expensive fitted set.

If you stick with it you will probably be able to make most of the money spent if you sell them used on Ebay or such. Don't go overboard for your first set unless you can really afford to.

Decent advice, except your comment on shaft stiffness. I'd bet the farm his swing is better suited for a Regular flex, versus a stiff. Waaay too many people buy a shaft too stiff for their swing, and their distance (and accuracy to a lesser extent) suffers.