IGNORED

First "real" set of clubs for my 12 year old son

ScottL
Note: This thread is 4266 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have been golfing for a few years now (think about 5) and although I do not get to play as much as Id like, I do take it very serious and love the game. I guess you could say Im borderline obsessed.

That being said, my son is just now starting to show a little interest in the game. There is a nice course by me that also has a little 3 hole practice course. Its kept in perfect shape, but is perfect to take my son out on because there arent a million people playing it pressuring us to speed up.

To date, he has probably only gone to the driving range 2-3 times and played maybe 1 round of 9 holes. never really showed him and "tips", just let him swing naturally and do his thing..

well about 2 weeks ago i took him out to the front yard and tried showing him a few things with these orange calloway sponge balls. I just showed him grip, stance and a few other minor things. Then we headed out to the 3 hole practice course and played 6 holes. He actually got 2 legit pars (playing from the reds). one par 4 he hit is great down the middle, then approach about 10 feet from the pin on the green. Then one a par 3, hit it about 20 feet from the pin... then the other 4 holes were probably double bogeys or worse... but i can see some potential.

He just started 7th grade and I have already been talking to his coach a little. there is a 7th grade golf team and the tryouts are in April. He said 10 kids will make the team and usually about 35-45 will try out. He said they usually shoot anywhere from 36 to 66.