or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Rule Question regarding standing water.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Rule Question regarding standing water.

post #1 of 7
Thread Starter 
What is the rule regarding a ball resting in standing water in a sand bunker?
post #2 of 7

Re: Rule Question regarding standing water.

i haven't read the rules, but i think you get to remove from the bunker.
post #3 of 7

Re: Rule Question regarding standing water.

Originally Posted by prutkows View Post
What is the rule regarding a ball resting in standing water in a sand bunker?
See Rule 25-1b(ii).

Essentially you may lift the ball, clean it and drop it in the bunker to get a relief from the casual water. You may also drop the ball outside the bunker with one penalty.

And here's the Rule:

(ii) In a Bunker: If the ball is in a bunker, the player must lift the ball and
drop it either:
(a) Without penalty, in accordance with Clause (i) above, except
that the nearest point of relief must be in the bunker and the
ball must be dropped in the bunker or, if complete relief is
impossible, as near as possible to the spot where the ball lay,
but not nearer the hole, on a part of the course in the bunker
that affords maximum available relief from the condition; or
(b) Under penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker keeping the
point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the
spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far
behind the bunker the ball may be dropped.
post #4 of 7
Thread Starter 

Re: Rule Question regarding standing water.

^thanks guys.
post #5 of 7

Re: Rule Question regarding standing water.

Originally Posted by Saint View Post
i haven't read the rules, but i think you get to remove from the bunker.
Why on earth would you respond to the question when you don't know the answer? What is the point of admitting that you don't know the rule and then offering an incorrect answer?
post #6 of 7

Re: Rule Question regarding standing water.

Because that was what our club pro said, but I didn't know to take him for his word or not though. Does that answer suffice for you?
post #7 of 7

Re: Rule Question regarding standing water.

Just for the record, a link to the Rules of Golf online (USGA website):

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules...and-Decisions/


This has been a public service announcement.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Rule Question regarding standing water.