-
Popular Now
-
Blog Entries
-
Posts
-
By wetzel1592 · Posted
Day 6: Worked on adding some load to the putter hitting putts right hand only then finished with the gate drill. -
Although the base rules don't make this really clear, the Player must have decided to use Unplayable Ball relief before lifting the ball. This exact situation is discussed in the Committee Procedures section of the Rules, section 6C(8). Section 6C addresses how to rule when a Player proceeds under a Rule that does not apply. Note that 9.4 applies, 9.4 deals with a player moving his ball when no rule allows it. Rule 9.4 penalizes the Player for lifting his ball when not permitted by the Rules, and requires him to replace it. Since he dropped and played from a different place, the Wrong Place penalty applies. As for a serious breach, that would only apply if the Wrong Place gave him a really significant advantage. Since he could have taken Unplayable Ball relief in essentially the same spot, for just 1 penalty stroke, the Wrong Place penalty of 2 strokes is enough "punishment", there's no need to consider a DQ.
-