Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

A Ball Is Lodged in a Tree Branch Beyond the Reach of a Club


Note: This thread is 2422 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Quote

 

Stroke

Stroke/1 – Determining If a Stroke Was Made

The player’s action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.

 

after reading rule 9.4 i'm uncertain what should happen in the above scenario. please help! 😅 

9.4a is applicable since no stroke has been made, stating the ball must be replaced in its original spot. but how could one be reasonably expected to replace a ball that is beyond the reach of their club? what happens if they can't? 

it also seems 9.4b should apply, causing the player to incur one penalty stroke, though i'm surprised the definition wouldn't just mention this. is this correct?

thank you!

rule 9.4: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rule-9.html
definition of stroke: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/definitions_interpretations.html

my swing thread

3-wood: 13* TEE CB4, mitsubishi 'ahina 80g x; 2-iron: 16* mizuno hi-fli, c-taper 130g; 3-pw: mizuno mp-5, c-taper 130g; 50/55/60: mizuno t7, c-taper 130g; putter: SC bullseye platinum flange (2001)

 


Posted

Check out interpretation 

9.4a/1 – Procedure When Player’s Ball Is Dislodged From Tree

 

  • Thumbs Up 1

Posted (edited)

@jlbos83, thanks for your help. 👍

after reading/re-reading the interpretation and definition a few times i realize what confused me. the part of the definition i quoted doesn't mention "retrieve" even though that's exactly what the player is doing in that scenario. 

the interpretations don't explicitly cover that same scenario from the definition (weirdly) but to me it looks like this how to correctly proceed:

the player should make it clear he or she will take unplayable ball relief under rule 19 before knocking the ball out of the tree. they get one penalty stroke under rule 19 but no additional strokes (rule 9.4) for deliberately causing the ball to move. 

Edited by hoselpalooza
a word

my swing thread

3-wood: 13* TEE CB4, mitsubishi 'ahina 80g x; 2-iron: 16* mizuno hi-fli, c-taper 130g; 3-pw: mizuno mp-5, c-taper 130g; 50/55/60: mizuno t7, c-taper 130g; putter: SC bullseye platinum flange (2001)

 


Note: This thread is 2422 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.