IGNORED

Lagshot Training Aid (with Before/After Video)

ZANDER1994
Note: This thread is 853 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing golf for 4-5 years and am currently a 15 handicap. I struggle with a steep, over the top swing and an overly strong grip. My shot shape is generally a straight pull. I can easily hit a high fade or a pull hook but can count on one hand the amount of times I've ever hit a high draw. I'm taking a series of lessons over the winter (I've had two so far) to change some things and I bought a couple training aids including the Plane Mate, the Swingyde and now the Lagshot. I also already owned a Momentus weighted club, which I keep in the car for practice swings before rounds to loosen up and in case I have road rage on the way home (just kidding 😄).

Today was my first time using the Lagshot and all I can say is WOW. To explain this aid, it is essentially a slightly weighted club that has a whippy shaft, similar to the orange ball training aids, but you can actually hit balls with it because it has a clubhead at the end. The marketing primarily focuses on this helping people smooth out their swing in terms of timing, loading the shaft and creating lag. Personally, I was much more interested in this aid after seeing several people comment it made them start hitting hooks. It seems for many slicers, it taught them to close the face sooner on the downswing and pause at the top, lessening their tendency to come over the top.