IGNORED

Playing With Irons

John of Art

Hi everybody!

I am new to the golf game. I have taken some lessons and got fitted for clubs a couple of months ago. I usually score between 110-120 for 18 holes.

I bought a Stealth driver last year and have been hitting consistently with it 210-230 yds on the simulator. But when I take it out on the course, every drive is a severe slice!

I played 18 holes yesterday at the club where I belong. I removed the driver from my bag and used the 5 iron to drive with. I hit straight 16 out of 18 drives, 180 - 200 yds. I used the 5i - putter for the rest of my game.

I ended the day with a 92.

Question: Does it make sense for me to continue playing with irons only until I get further along in my game before I reintroduce the Driver and woods again? Or should I continue to struggle with the Driver and woods and shoot in the 100’s again? To me it’s a no brainer, but for those more advanced I am interested to get feedback.

1 hour ago, John of Art said:

Hi everybody!

I am new to the golf game. I have taken some lessons and got fitted for clubs a couple of months ago. I usually score between 110-120 for 18 holes.

I bought a Stealth driver last year and have been hitting consistently with it 210-230 yds on the simulator. But when I take it out on the course, every drive is a severe slice!

I played 18 holes yesterday at the club where I belong. I removed the driver from my bag and used the 5 iron to drive with. I hit straight 16 out of 18 drives, 180 - 200 yds. I used the 5i - putter for the rest of my game.

Question: Does it make sense for me to continue playing with irons only until I get further along in my game before I reintroduce the Driver and woods again? Or should I continue to struggle with the Driver and woods and shoot in the 100’s again? To me it’s a no brainer, but for those more advanced I am interested to get feedback.