IGNORED

Great swing discovery at the range today

topspin4hand
Note: This thread is 5779 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Just returned from the range. I think I just figured out how to hit my long irons this evening!

I'm a newbie to golf. I'm an early 30's basketball player who needed another leisure activity that didn't result in leg surgeries so I took up golf. I spent the 2004 summer on the range basically driving the ball. 2005 and 2006 summers were lost to achilles tendon surgery and ACL surgery respectively (ironically I just finished my residency in orthopedics a couple yrs ago :( ). This spring I played my 1st full 18 on a course.

I have not improved like some on here but I basically drive the ball well and chip around the green moderately well (for my level). I have no idea about controlling length on my putts and the worst part of my game are my irons. I cannot explain how deflating it is to drive the ball down the fairway (240-250 yds) time and time again only to skull an approach (or chunk an approach). This is basically why I shoot an average of 105-110 normally.