Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 6285 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Posted
the original question was (or was supposed to be)

If you're saying that his original stance would have been interfered with by BOTH the post and the path, then I'm virtually 100% confident he absolutely must take relief from both.

I thought the question was that he was interfered with by the post, but his drop left him so close to the cart path that he'd be standing on it if he dropped - not that he was also standing on it to begin with.
there was room for him to put it in a place where neither the path or the post would be in play, but he didn't like that spot, (tree's in front of him) he liked it where his feet were on the path and no tree's in front of him,...

Again, nearly 100% confident he has to either play it as it lies or take complete relief from the post and the path.

How close were the two? I'm guessing the path (if the guy's a righty) is on the left side of the hole, such that the post is on the inside (right side) of the path? If you're going to ask a rules question, please try to be precise in how you word things. It changes things. P.S. I could point out that if you take relief from a red hazard, you can't drop into a yellow hazard. I think the same logic applies here.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Is it not the players choice to stand on the cart path if it gives him a better line after he takes releif from the post? Another words he does not "have" to take relief from standing on the cart path. Right?

Kelly


www.finescale360.com

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
Is it not the players choice to stand on the cart path if it gives him a better line after he takes releif from the post? Another words he does not "have" to take relief from standing on the cart path. Right?

If you choose to take relief, you must take complete relief. If his original ball position left him standing on the cart path, again, I'm nearly 100% positive you can't say "I'm taking relief from the post, but not the cart path."

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
If you choose to take relief, you must take complete relief. If his original ball position left him standing on the cart path, again, I'm nearly 100% positive you can't say "I'm taking relief from the post, but not the cart path."

Thanks, I agree,...

Nearest point is not always the best point,...

  • Administrator
Posted
Thanks, I agree,...

This still begs the interesting question of a post and a cartpath separated by enough space that only one affects you at any time, but the nearest point is between them so that there's no room between them to take relief from both.

I've emailed the USGA back to ask for a clarification, not only about that variation but about the variation wherein you can take relief from one that affects you, but perhaps you use that one clublength and end up standing on the cartpath or something. I think that's probably a legitimate drop.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
heyscuba - You simply have to state what you are taking relief from. In this case, he should state he's taking relief from the stake (immovable obstruction). Find the nearest point of relief and drop within 1 club.

Sorry Powerfade, I don't think that's right,... maybe you can't visualize the situation,... in my eye's his nearest point of relief was away from the cart path and the post, it put him in a clear spot with a clear swing and no feet on the path, no post in the way, but the tree's came into play there,.... he didn't like that so he wanted to take the relief by stepping backwards one step and drop the ball in between the path and the post but leaving his feet on the path,... he then wanted to hit it from there, he thought he had the choice of hitting it with his feet on the cart path, but I say no, taking relief from the post means taking full relief,... if you put the ball where you again get relief then you didn't take full relief,...

if I knew how to add an attachment to this site I'd draw you a picture,... thanks for the note,... heyscuba

Posted
I remember seeing Tiger hit from the cart path in metal spikes but he had decide not to take any relief because he had a good lie in the rough and didn't want to chance a bad lie from a drop.

With that in mind I was under the impression that if the ball was palyable it would be the players choice to stand on a path.

I will be interesting to see what the officials say.

Kelly


www.finescale360.com

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I remember seeing Tiger hit from the cart path in metal spikes but he had decide not to take any relief because he had a good lie in the rough and didn't want to chance a bad lie from a drop.

the ball was not playable,....

imagine you're standing there addressing the ball (righthand golfer) your feet are on the path, and a post is next to the ball,...... no way to hit this ball,... you need to take relief,.... I don't think you can take relief and still keep your feet on the path,... you can choose to hit the ball with your feet on the path if it already lies there,... but you can't move it to a place like that when taking a free drop, you need to take full relief,... which is what you must do in this situation,,,,, I'm repeating myself,...

Posted
If you choose to take relief, you must take complete relief. If his original ball position left him standing on the cart path, again, I'm nearly 100% positive you can't say "I'm taking relief from the post, but not the cart path."

The post and the path are different situations, the player is not obliged to tie the two together unless a local rule says so.

The player can choose to take relief from the post only, leaving his stance on the cart path if he wishes. He can then consider the path as a totally new situation, albeit under the same rule, and has the choice to play the ball as it (now) lies. Alternatively, the player may choose to take relief from the cart path to start with which presumably will also tak him away from the post. This is analogous to decision 25-1b/11.

Posted
The post and the path are different situations, the player is not obliged to tie the two together unless a local rule says so.

Drawing of the situation attached Please tell then what does it mean when the rules say "take full relief,... if he takes relief from the post and is still on the path, he didn't take full relief right? have a look at this attachment,... (I hope I did it right) it's a crude drawing of the siuation,...

  • Administrator
Posted
The post and the path are different situations, the player is not obliged to tie the two together unless a local rule says so.

Not according to the USGA, though again, I've asked for clarification. Furthermore, the OP has clarified that the guy's stance put him on the cart path to begin with.

And no, it's not analogous to 25-1b/11. Both the cart path and the post are immovable obstructions. Casual water and GUR aren't the same kind of thing. Two immovable obstructions are. I'll await the clarification email from the USGA before I say more.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
...This is analogous to decision 25-1b/11.

There is no Decision 25-1b/11. There is a Decision 25/1 "Soft, Mushy Earth" and Decision 25/2 "Overflow from Water Hazard.


  • Administrator
Posted
There is no Decision 25-1b/11. There is a Decision 25/1 "Soft, Mushy Earth" and Decision 25/2 "Overflow from Water Hazard.

Decision 25-1b/11 .

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Drawing looks good, I guess it depends on if full relief is intended for the ball or the ball and the player.

If it is just the ball then he got full relief from the post even though his feet where still on the path. I take it he wasn't asking for relief from the path, just the post right?
Drawing of the situation attached

Kelly


www.finescale360.com

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
Drawing looks good, I guess it depends on if full relief is intended for the ball or the ball and the player.

You can't take relief for just one - the ball or the player. It's "stance and swing." They're one and the same - full relief is from both.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Drawing of the situation attached

From the drawing it looks like the post is part of a small fence. Unless there is a local rule in force that ties the areas together - the principle within decision 33-8/25 - then the fence and path are distinctly different obstructions. The player may choose to obtain relief from the fence and as long as the fence does not interfere with his swing or his stance, then full relief has been taken.

The path may then be considered seperately - see decision 24-2b/9. On the other hand, if the player chose initially to take relief from the path instead, then he can disregard the fence. Having dropped his ball in accordance with rule 24-2 if the fence then intereferes with his stance or swing he can find a new nearest point of relief from his new position. This may have landed him where you diagram shows, but of course, it may also land him back on the path. In which case, the principle of decision 1-4/8 can be applied.

  • Administrator
Posted
It seems 1-4/8 would apply in a situation where the post interfered, then the path, then the post, then the path, with the player having the option to play with his stance on the path if he desired. Again, I'll await the USGA's word on that, but it seems likely that may be the case. Same with 24-2b/9 to an extent.

I get what you're saying about 24-2b/9, but the point here is that both obstructions interfere in the ball's original position, and I'm still not entirely sure he is entitled to say "I'm taking relief from that one which interferes with my swing, but not this one which interferes with my stance" when both are actively interfering with his current position. 24-2b/9 talks about dropping and having a new thing interfere, not two existing things.

But either way, I'm glad I asked the USGA for clarification. It seems the first person who responded to me might not have gotten things quite right, or may have at least misunderstood what I was asking.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 6285 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.