IGNORED

need help with my new driver

gottaplay
Note: This thread is 6602 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all,

I'm new to this game and I've been playing for a good 2 months. I took a few lessons before I got started also....

(really already played about 35 rounds of golf though...I played 20 times in February and I've played already about 15 in March...! Did I mention I live in florida?)

Anyway, I'm up late tonight thinking about my driver. I started out with a set of clubs from Sports Authority.... a $200 set which I loved when I bought. After a few rounds I quickly deemed my set's driver (Wilson Tour Rx) "unplayable" because I always sliced it badly and always played a 3 wood off of most tees for more accurate drives.

When I finally learned a couple weeks ago that a slightly slower/smoother swing would allow me to play my driver... I felt like I started absolutely pounding the ball (In truth, "pounding" it for me is anything more than 230 yards). I felt like sometimes I could get 250-260 out of it. Anyway, like a luck the graphite shaft on the Driver decides to crack. (Ofcourse, it was just when I started bombing it over the trees on this short dogleg Par 4).

Everytime I would swing I would hear a slight crackling (maybe the integrity of the shaft is screwed up?) so after that, I wasn't able to drive straight with it.

Here's my dillema finally. I can't buy that wilson driver. It only comes with sets, supposedly its a crappy driver. I can't get any specs for the shaft so I can get a club built with similar specs... It just says, Wilson Tour Rx Men's Flex.

So what do I do? I go to sports authority and buy on a great sale a Callaway Big Bertha 454 Titanium driver. The thing costs what my whole set of clubs cost, about $190.