Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 6966 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
First Question:
Player A hits a tee shot and thinks it could be lost. He hits a provisional and it follows the first one and Player A has to hit a 2nd provisional. Player A can only find the second provisional is he now shooting 6 when he arrives at his second provisional?

Second Question:
Can a player ground their club if the ball is inside the hazard but still playable? Does grounding the club mean even touching one long blade of grass?

Third Question:
A buddy was telling me that he was watching the rules on TGC. On there they stated that if a player hits a provisional it has to be the same brand of ball. Example would be he's originally playing a ProV1 and he wants to hit a Nike Platinum for his second shot. Can anybody confirm this and if so, does that apply to regular USGA rules?

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...


  • Administrator
Posted
  Diggitydog said:
Player A hits a tee shot and thinks it could be lost. He hits a provisional and it follows the first one and Player A has to hit a 2nd provisional. Player A can only find the second provisional is he now shooting 6 when he arrives at his second provisional?

Yep. If he found his third ball, he lay five hitting six.

  Diggitydog said:
Can a player ground their club if the ball is inside the hazard but still playable? Does grounding the club mean even touching one long blade of grass?

Grounding the club means touching the ground. It doesn't mean touching things sticking up out of the ground. In a bunker, the ground is the sand. In a water hazard (the edges specifically) with long grass, the ground is the dirt, not the things sticking up.

  Diggitydog said:
A buddy was telling me that he was watching the rules on TGC. On there they stated that if a player hits a provisional it has to be the same brand of ball. Example would be he's originally playing a ProV1 and he wants to hit a Nike Platinum for his second shot. Can anybody confirm this and if so, does that apply to regular USGA rules?

It's called the "one ball rule" and it's a local rule that the USGA allows tournaments to impose (see

appendix 1, part c ). It's unlikely that, except in high-level amateur and pro events, such a local rule is in place.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I had a question about rules as well. Say a player is in a pot bunker at the British Open or Open as its now called. And as hes going in the bunker he trips and falls, grounding the club in the sand. Whats the ruling?
Driver-Taylor Made R7 460cc 10.5* Fujikara REAX Stiff
Fairway Wood-Taylor Made R7 Draw 15* Fujikara REAX Stiff
Hybrid Taylor Made 19* Rescue Mid Steel Stiff
4-PW-Golfsmith G40 TT Lite XL Stiff
GW-Ben Hogan Riviera 8* Bounce 50*SW-Ben Hogan Riviera Medium Bounce 56*LW-Cleveland 60* 588 ChromePutter-Taylo...

  • Administrator
Posted
  Finn07 said:
I had a question about rules as well. Say a player is in a pot bunker at the British Open or Open as its now called. And as hes going in the bunker he trips and falls, grounding the club in the sand. Whats the ruling?

You can ground a club in the sand if it's to (attempt to) prevent yourself from falling. The rules of golf never put safety behind any other rule. You're even allowed a free drop if your ball is near a beehive.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  iacas said:
You can ground a club in the sand if it's to (attempt to) prevent yourself from falling. The rules of golf never put safety behind any other rule. You're even allowed a free drop if your ball is near a beehive.

I've played in South Carolina, and seen a gator in the pond near my ball. Do i get a drop?

In The Bag
Ping Rapture 10.5* Aldila Proto 65-S
Sonartec SS 3.5 19* 5W Fuji Tour Platform Stiff
Mizuno MP-30 3-PW
Titleist Vokey Spin Milled 54.10*, 60.04*Odyssey White Hot 2 BallTitleist Pro V1x

Posted
Thanks for the clarifications iacas.

On the bunker theme, I have wondered about accidental grounding, not to prevent a fall but say you have the club in your hand and go to pick up the rake and as you bend down your club touches the sand. Penalty?

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...


Posted
typically you have already hit the ball out of the bunker before you go for the rake. I would think since the ball was played then if your club goes in the sand it wouldn't be a penalty

Driver-Wilson Deep Red II .428 shaft (stiff)
3 Wood-Mizuno T-Zoid Blue Rage (stiff)
5 wood-Mizuno T-Zoid Blue Rage (stiff)
3 Iron Hybrid- Wilson fat shaft(17*)
4 Iron Hybrid- Wilson fat shaft(21*)5-PW-Wilson fat shaft52-56-68 Degree wedges- Wilson HarmonizedPutter- Top Flite Mallet


Posted
Certainly 999 times out of 1000 that is the case, but maybe the rake was right beside you and it was more convenient to pick it up before hitting your ball.

Absolutely it's not a penalty to touch the sand AFTER your ball has been played from the bunker.

Still needing an answer to the original question. Thanks for the post though sioutdoors.

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...


Posted
  Wood said:
I've played in South Carolina, and seen a gator in the pond near my ball. Do i get a drop?

from USGA "Decisions on Rules" :

Decision 1-4/10. That Decision concerns the player who encounters a dangerous situation which is both totally out of his control and unrelated to conditions normally encountered on the course. Additionally, it presupposes that the player's ball is in a playable position. If this were not the case, the player would have to proceed under the unplayable ball Rule incurring a penalty of one stroke, rather than obtaining free relief as prescribed by the Decision. Note the key element is, that the ball is playable (if it's 2 feet under water, even if it rests on gator's tail - you'll be assesed stroke for unplayable lie )
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  Diggitydog said:
Thanks for the clarifications iacas.

I remember last year when John Daly dropped his wedge in the bunker - no penalty.

I believe the exact wording is "if accidental grounding happen without intention of testing the surface there is no penalty".
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Thanks Rafcin

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...


Note: This thread is 6966 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 364: About an hour and a half practice session. Spent most of it at the range. Did a solid 30 minutes of work on my priority piece, with filming. I think it's improving, but will probably check in on Evolvr to make sure. Then spent the last ~20 minutes putting, working mostly on short putts.
    • Wordle 1,491 4/6* ⬜⬜⬜⬜⬜ 🟩⬜🟩⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Day 79 (19 July 25) - Band rehearsal this morning - got home midafternoon, opted to work more with the magnetic alignment tool with the wedges.  Used it to work on face position at the bottom of the swing arc - followed up with easy pitches up to 50yds.  Seeing better face control and over improved accuracy toward target…session was cut short with pop up rain showers.
    • This is a great discussion. Other parts of the course where there are houses have white stakes and signs. This keeps people from trespassing and hitting shots on their property. There is another county road on the east side of the course that does not have white stakes like the hole I described. I checked the score card and there is nothing to indicate these roadways are OB. I think a county drainage ditch would be considered government right-of-way so it is the peoples land 🤣. But you are in the power industry and know more about those sorts of things than me.
    • Day 3: Worked on backswing. Feel: Matt Wolff, Real: Not yanking it inside and getting it laid off and flat at the top. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

Join us here in The Sand Trap!

Registration is free and takes almost no time. You'll see one fewer ad per page and be ready to jump in and contribute your thoughts to any subject!

Click here to register (registration will open in a new page so you can continue to read what you came to read).

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...