Jump to content
IGNORED

Rule Questions


Diggitydog
 Share

Note: This thread is 5896 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

First Question:
Player A hits a tee shot and thinks it could be lost. He hits a provisional and it follows the first one and Player A has to hit a 2nd provisional. Player A can only find the second provisional is he now shooting 6 when he arrives at his second provisional?

Second Question:
Can a player ground their club if the ball is inside the hazard but still playable? Does grounding the club mean even touching one long blade of grass?

Third Question:
A buddy was telling me that he was watching the rules on TGC. On there they stated that if a player hits a provisional it has to be the same brand of ball. Example would be he's originally playing a ProV1 and he wants to hit a Nike Platinum for his second shot. Can anybody confirm this and if so, does that apply to regular USGA rules?

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Player A hits a tee shot and thinks it could be lost. He hits a provisional and it follows the first one and Player A has to hit a 2nd provisional. Player A can only find the second provisional is he now shooting 6 when he arrives at his second provisional?

Yep. If he found his third ball, he lay five hitting six.

Can a player ground their club if the ball is inside the hazard but still playable? Does grounding the club mean even touching one long blade of grass?

Grounding the club means touching the ground. It doesn't mean touching things sticking up out of the ground. In a bunker, the ground is the sand. In a water hazard (the edges specifically) with long grass, the ground is the dirt, not the things sticking up.

A buddy was telling me that he was watching the rules on TGC. On there they stated that if a player hits a provisional it has to be the same brand of ball. Example would be he's originally playing a ProV1 and he wants to hit a Nike Platinum for his second shot. Can anybody confirm this and if so, does that apply to regular USGA rules?

It's called the "one ball rule" and it's a local rule that the USGA allows tournaments to impose (see

appendix 1, part c ). It's unlikely that, except in high-level amateur and pro events, such a local rule is in place.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I had a question about rules as well. Say a player is in a pot bunker at the British Open or Open as its now called. And as hes going in the bunker he trips and falls, grounding the club in the sand. Whats the ruling?
Driver-Taylor Made R7 460cc 10.5* Fujikara REAX Stiff
Fairway Wood-Taylor Made R7 Draw 15* Fujikara REAX Stiff
Hybrid Taylor Made 19* Rescue Mid Steel Stiff
4-PW-Golfsmith G40 TT Lite XL Stiff
GW-Ben Hogan Riviera 8* Bounce 50*SW-Ben Hogan Riviera Medium Bounce 56*LW-Cleveland 60* 588 ChromePutter-Taylo...
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
I had a question about rules as well. Say a player is in a pot bunker at the British Open or Open as its now called. And as hes going in the bunker he trips and falls, grounding the club in the sand. Whats the ruling?

You can ground a club in the sand if it's to (attempt to) prevent yourself from falling. The rules of golf never put safety behind any other rule. You're even allowed a free drop if your ball is near a beehive.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You can ground a club in the sand if it's to (attempt to) prevent yourself from falling. The rules of golf never put safety behind any other rule. You're even allowed a free drop if your ball is near a beehive.

I've played in South Carolina, and seen a gator in the pond near my ball. Do i get a drop?

In The Bag
Ping Rapture 10.5* Aldila Proto 65-S
Sonartec SS 3.5 19* 5W Fuji Tour Platform Stiff
Mizuno MP-30 3-PW
Titleist Vokey Spin Milled 54.10*, 60.04*Odyssey White Hot 2 BallTitleist Pro V1x
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Thanks for the clarifications iacas.

On the bunker theme, I have wondered about accidental grounding, not to prevent a fall but say you have the club in your hand and go to pick up the rake and as you bend down your club touches the sand. Penalty?

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


typically you have already hit the ball out of the bunker before you go for the rake. I would think since the ball was played then if your club goes in the sand it wouldn't be a penalty

Driver-Wilson Deep Red II .428 shaft (stiff)
3 Wood-Mizuno T-Zoid Blue Rage (stiff)
5 wood-Mizuno T-Zoid Blue Rage (stiff)
3 Iron Hybrid- Wilson fat shaft(17*)
4 Iron Hybrid- Wilson fat shaft(21*)5-PW-Wilson fat shaft52-56-68 Degree wedges- Wilson HarmonizedPutter- Top Flite Mallet

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Certainly 999 times out of 1000 that is the case, but maybe the rake was right beside you and it was more convenient to pick it up before hitting your ball.

Absolutely it's not a penalty to touch the sand AFTER your ball has been played from the bunker.

Still needing an answer to the original question. Thanks for the post though sioutdoors.

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I've played in South Carolina, and seen a gator in the pond near my ball. Do i get a drop?

from USGA "Decisions on Rules" :

Decision 1-4/10. That Decision concerns the player who encounters a dangerous situation which is both totally out of his control and unrelated to conditions normally encountered on the course. Additionally, it presupposes that the player's ball is in a playable position. If this were not the case, the player would have to proceed under the unplayable ball Rule incurring a penalty of one stroke, rather than obtaining free relief as prescribed by the Decision. Note the key element is, that the ball is playable (if it's 2 feet under water, even if it rests on gator's tail - you'll be assesed stroke for unplayable lie )
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks for the clarifications iacas.

I remember last year when John Daly dropped his wedge in the bunker - no penalty.

I believe the exact wording is "if accidental grounding happen without intention of testing the surface there is no penalty".
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks Rafcin

Swing = Stacked and On Plane when possible.
In My Bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9° Alidila NV 75g Stiff
3-Wood: Nike SQ 15° Diamana Stiff (Stock)
Irons: NIKE FORGED SPLIT CAVIY (S300)Wedges: Taylormade RAC Fe2O3 (Rust) 52°/56°/60°Putter: Titleist/Cameron Newport 1.5Ball: Looking for a new...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 5896 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...