Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules Question


BallStriker
 Share

Note: This thread is 4825 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Playing today and an interesting situation arose for my buddy....

He hit his ball about 5 feet past where the cart path split into a Y.....where his ball originally lied his front foot was on the path and had a right to relief.....after locating his nearest spot of relief, he dropped just inside another full club length and the slope made the ball roll down closer to the hole.(doing this twice)..at the spot he dropped (where it should be placed normally) his back foot was now on the "back" cart path......however, there was a spot he could have taken full relief between the paths, but chose to use the entire club length so again he did not have relief....

does he have the right to take relief if available between the paths even he could take the full club length he was afforded and then be in another "drop" spot because his back foot was on the back path..and he wanted to go back beyone the back path to get a flat lie?

"Getting paired with you is the equivalent to a two-stroke penalty to your playing competitors"  -- Sean O'Hair to Rory Sabbatini (Zurich Classic, 2011)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
does he have the right to take relief if available between the paths even he could take the full club length he was afforded and then be in another "drop" spot because his back foot was on the back path..and he wanted to go back beyone the back path to get a flat lie?

It's late and I don't feel like scouring the Decisions, etc. so I'm going to take a stab at this based on what I know.

There's only one "nearest point of relief." I believe he's required to take relief there. I also believe the obstruction (the cart path), even though it splits, is considered one obstruction - preventing him from taking relief from the first part of the "Y" and then taking relief again from the second part (or playing it with his feet on the other part of the "Y"). The point of nearest relief, too, is a point. It's not a semicircle comprised of "the point plus a one-club radius." I believe that if you have a point of complete relief, you take it - you don't get to say "no, this area isn't complete relief because if I drop here, 7/8ths of a clublength away, I won't get full relief from the obstruction." But again, that's off the top of my head. A picture or drawing would help - you should consider posting one on photobucket or flickr or somewhere.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Actually, if you take relief, then you have to take full relief. The fact that his back foot is still on the cart path means he did not take full relief.... unless it is considered a different cart path. If it is a different cart path then he is entitled to relief again. If it was not a different cart path and he played the ball without taking full relief, there is a penalty.

My swing thoughts:

- Negative thinking hurts more than negative swinging.
- I let my swing balance me.
- Full extension back and through to the target. - I swing under not around my body. - My club must not twist in my swing. - Keep a soft left knee

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 4825 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...