Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5831 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Today on a par 3, I pulled my tee shot a little left of the green. On this particular hole to the right of the cart path... there is a thin strip of rough (3-4'), about 1.5' of fringe, then the green. My tee shot landed in the rough close enough to the cart path to interfere with my stance, so I took relief from the cart path. I pulled my driver, took my 2 club lengths no nearer the hole and was actually able to get to the fringe and putt instead of chip. Did I commit a foul? I'm really not sure. I'm reasonably certain you can't take relief on the putting surface itself, or extricate your ball from a hazard while taking relief...but this particular circumstance, I'm not sure on. Anybody have the ruling?

  • Administrator
Posted
You can drop anywhere through the green. Some holes on the PGA Tour, a guy will hit into a water hazard and putt with his next stroke because the putting green surface is so close to the water. So long as you weren't closer to the hole and that was your NEAREST spot of relief, you're fine.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  rwfastrax said:
Today on a par 3, I pulled my tee shot a little left of the green. On this particular hole to the right of the cart path... there is a thin strip of rough (3-4'), about 1.5' of fringe, then the green. My tee shot landed in the rough close enough to the cart path to interfere with my stance, so I took relief from the cart path. I pulled my driver,

A free relief is always max one club length from nearest point of relief, not two.


  • Administrator
Posted
  Ignorant said:
A free relief is always max one club length from nearest point of relief, not two.

Good catch - I missed that.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5831 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...