Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Rules question: interference from teeing ground


Note: This thread is 5691 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

This came up in my round yesterday. I hit a wayward second shot that found itself right on the edge of the closely-mown grass on the teeing ground for an adjacent hole. The ball was not actually on the closely-mown grass, but my stance would be half on it, and the follow-through would almost surely leave a divot in it. Are you entitled (required, actually) to take a free drop in this circumstance, or is that only in the case when your ball lies on or touches the teeing ground?

The rule, as written, is ambiguous to my reading. It's quoted below; my confusion stems from the combination of the bolded pieces---is 25-1.b.(iv) specifically calling out that the ball must lie on it to qualify for the drop, or is the intention that the teeing ground be treated essentially as an abnormal ground condition for this purpose, where interference with the stance or swing also triggers the drop?
25-1. Abnormal Ground Conditions a. Interference Interference by an abnormal ground condition occurs when a ball lies in or touches the condition or when the condition interferes with the player's stance or the area of his intended swing. If the player's ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an abnormal ground condition on the putting green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule. Note: The Committee may make a Local Rule stating that interference by an abnormal ground condition with a player's stance is deemed not to be, of itself, interference under this Rule. b. Relief Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an abnormal ground condition as follows: (i)Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the condition and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. [irrelevant stuff cut] (iv)On the Teeing Ground: If the ball lies on the teeing ground, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, in accordance with Clause(i) above.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted
The rule seems pretty clear to me - on the teeing ground, relief, not on the teeing ground, play it down. The tee box didn't interfere with your stance or swing, right, it's just not ideal.

Driver: Nike Ignite 10.5 w/ Fujikura Motore F1
2H: King Cobra
4H: Nickent 4DX
5H: Adams A3
6I 7I 8I 9I PW: Mizuno mp-57Wedges: Mizuno MP T-10 50, 54, 58 Ball: random


Posted
I think you are missreading the rule. Teeing ground is not in and of itself interference from which you get relief. The part of the rule that you cite above is instructing you how to proceed if you are on the teeing ground AND have interference (ground under repair for instatnce).

  • Administrator
Posted
I think you are missreading the rule. Teeing ground is not in and of itself interference from which you get relief. The part of the rule that you cite above is instructing you how to proceed if you are on the teeing ground AND have interference (ground under repair for instatnce).

This. The only time you get to drop the ball somewhere or whatever is if you're on another hole's green. If it's on another fairway - or even another hole's fringe or tee - you play it as it lies.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Thanks guys, I was misreading that. I thought it made sense to avoid unnecessary wear on the tee box, but it makes sense.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Note: This thread is 5691 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.