Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5576 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
If a ball goes into a stream to the side of the hole (running the length of the hole) can the ball be played from its finish position?

I.e If it floats 200 yds down the stream and then stops, can I play it from there?
Or is it a drop from where it goes in?, unless I actually play the ball from where it ends up?

Hope that makes sense!

Taylormade RBZ 10.5 driver, Taylormade Burner 2.0 15 deg 3 wood, Mizuno JPX800 19deg hybrid, Taylormade Burner 2.0 4-PW, Titleist Vokey 52,56,60 rusty wedges, Odyssey White Ice #7 360gm tour weight, Bridgestone B330S


Posted
I'm going to say play it (from within the hazard) from where it stops at. But I think you'll confuse people with the term FLOATS. I'm guessing you mean the current of the stream moves the ball some distance before it stops...

 :macgregor: V Foil 8.5*    :tmade: Mid Rescue 16*  -- :wilsonstaff: RM  2 thru Wedge -- :vokey: 56/10  -- :scotty_cameron: Studio Design 2  & a  :srixon: Z Star 


Posted
I'm going to say play it (from within the hazard) from where it stops at. But I think you'll confuse people with the term FLOATS. I'm guessing you mean the current of the stream moves the ball some distance before it stops...

Exactly what I meant.

Ball moved in the current all the way down to greenside and stopped. It would put me at a major advantage to play it.

Taylormade RBZ 10.5 driver, Taylormade Burner 2.0 15 deg 3 wood, Mizuno JPX800 19deg hybrid, Taylormade Burner 2.0 4-PW, Titleist Vokey 52,56,60 rusty wedges, Odyssey White Ice #7 360gm tour weight, Bridgestone B330S


Posted
Exactly what I meant.

If you are talking about playing the ball as it lies from the water where it stopped then yes. If you take the drop under Rule 26-1, then you have to go back to where it crossed into the hazard.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
If you are talking about playing the ball as it lies from the water where it stopped then yes. If you take the drop under Rule 26-1, then you have to go back to where it crossed into the hazard.

So can I play the ball form the hazard and then declare it unplayable when I cant get it out?

Taylormade RBZ 10.5 driver, Taylormade Burner 2.0 15 deg 3 wood, Mizuno JPX800 19deg hybrid, Taylormade Burner 2.0 4-PW, Titleist Vokey 52,56,60 rusty wedges, Odyssey White Ice #7 360gm tour weight, Bridgestone B330S


Posted
So can I play the ball form the hazard and then declare it unplayable when I cant get it out?

I don't think so.

Your in a hazard so you have to either play it or drop from where it entered. I'd say dropping would be the smartest move (unless it's a really shallow stream).

My Clubs
Driver - LV4 10* R flex
Wood - sam snead persimmon 2 wood (for windy days)
Hybrid burner tour launch 20* stiff flex.
Irons - Tour Mode 3i,4i stiffIrons - FP's 5-PW R-flexWedge - spin milled 54.14Wedge - spin milled 60.07Putter - Victoria Lowest round 2010: 79 (par 70)Latest rounds at...


Posted
So can I play the ball form the hazard and then declare it unplayable when I cant get it out?

You cannot declare a ball unplayable under Rule 28 when it lies in a water hazard. If you choose to not play the ball as it lies in the hazard, then you must proceed under one of the options in Rule 26-1 and drop outside of the hazard. That means that your point of reference for option b or c is the spot where the ball last crossed into the hazard. Where it actually came to rest is irrelevant.

26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the hazard. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1. If a ball is in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in a water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke: a. Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole. When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
You cannot declare a ball unplayable under Rule 28 when it lies in a water hazard. If you choose to not play the ball as it lies in the hazard, then you must proceed under one of the options in Rule 26-1 and drop outside of the hazard. That means that your point of reference for option b or c is the spot where the ball last crossed into the hazard. Where it actually came to rest is irrelevant.

Okay.

So if I take the shot, ball leaves the water and then enters the hazard again can I then drop back from the hazard? I would still then only be playing four? Correct? Its just the tee shot was into the hazard, so i dropped one and at that point I hit three, but I still had a big shot to even get near the green with the forth

Taylormade RBZ 10.5 driver, Taylormade Burner 2.0 15 deg 3 wood, Mizuno JPX800 19deg hybrid, Taylormade Burner 2.0 4-PW, Titleist Vokey 52,56,60 rusty wedges, Odyssey White Ice #7 360gm tour weight, Bridgestone B330S


Posted
On a par 3 once over water during a tournament i hit my ball between 2 rocks that were laying on the ridge of the water. I had to take a drop according to the grounds director. If the piece the ball is next to is not "man-made" apparently you cannot take a club length, you need to drop. So i dropped, shot 3 and wound up with a 5 on a par 3 155. Idk if that helps but that came during actually tournament play.

Posted
On a par 3 once over water during a tournament i hit my ball between 2 rocks that were laying on the ridge of the water. I had to take a drop according to the grounds director. If the piece the ball is next to is not "man-made" apparently you cannot take a club length, you need to drop. So i dropped, shot 3 and wound up with a 5 on a par 3 155. Idk if that helps but that came during actually tournament play.

You can never take relief by dropping within the hazard as you could, e.g., from an immovable obstruction outside the hazard. If an object is man-made (i.e., it's an obstruction), you may move it if it's movable, otherwise you get no relief. If it's unplayable, you have to use one of the options available under rule 26-1.

(You can drop into a hazard if you're taking relief FROM another hazard, e.g., if there's one along the line away from the hole where your ball crossed the margin, but you can't take a club length or two club-length from within the hazard under other rules.)

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted
If a ball goes into a stream to the side of the hole (running the length of the hole) can the ball be played from its finish position?

Rule 14-6 says:

14-6. Ball Moving in Water When a ball is moving in water in a water hazard, the player may, without penalty, make a stroke, but he must not delay making his stroke in order to allow the wind or current to improve the position of the ball. A ball moving in water in a water hazard may be lifted if the player elects to invoke Rule 26. This means first of all that it is not allowed to wait the ball float 200yds and then play it, unless of course the stream is too strong so it is not possible to make a stroke at the ball. So, in essence, you need to play the ball from the stream while it is moving OR invoke Rule 26 and drop the ball according to the options of that Rule with one penalty.

Posted
If it floated/drifted the 200 yards while he was approaching it or otherwise doing ordinary preparation, I don't think there's a problem. If it drifts, then comes to a rest, you'd be fine as long as you weren't sitting around waiting for it to reach greenside...

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted
Okay.

If the ball crosses out of the hazard then crosses back in the point of reference for your drop would be where it

last crossed the margin of the hazard.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5576 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.