Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Rules Question - Bulkheads Defining Water Hazard


Note: This thread is 5449 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Here you are teeing off on 18 and you bite off a little more than you can chew and your ball hits the bulkhead defining the water hazard.  Is hitting the bulkhead considered crossing the margin?  I would think you would have to drop before the water hazard in this case (or re-tee) as the hitting the bulkhead is not crossing the margin.

This is # 18 at Palm Beach National where I contribute regularly to my own delinquency.  The play here is to hit towards the middle of the left bunker with a little fade to set you up for a wedge.

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


Posted

First question - I'm guessing from the picture that this is defined as a 'lateral hazard'?

So, my interpretation of the rules would be...If you hit 'into' the bulkhead, ie - the ball hits it straight on and not on top then it did NOT cross the line of  the hazard and would be either a) re-teed or b) dropped on a line running straight between point of entry and the flag (ie - could be dropped closer to hazard or at a better angle to the left, rather than re-teeing).  If the ball landed on 'top' of the bulkhead and then somehow rebounded back into the hazard, then I would say the ball did cross the line of the hazard and drop under the '2 club-lengths' rule.

This has happened to me at Langdon Farms Golf Club in Oregon, the par-5 18th has a lateral hazard that runs along the right hand side from about 90yds out up to and alongside the green.  I went for the green on my 2nd shot and I pushed my shot and it got up in the wind and floated a bit too far right.  It landed on top of the rock wall (which I guess would be same as a bulkhead) and then rolled into the water.  There is no margin or stakes defining the hazard as I guess the rock wall is deemed enough of a clear line for the hazard.  I dropped within 2 club-lengths of the point of entry, just off the green in the should-cut of rough.

If someone has an explanation whether this was correct or not, please respond for future knowledge.

In my :nike:  bag on my :clicgear: cart ...

Driver: :ping: G10 9*    3-Wood: :cleveland: Launcher
Hybrid: :adams: 20* Hybrid      Irons: :ping: i5 4-GW - silver dot, +1/2"
Wedges: :cleveland: 56* (bent to 54*) and 60* CG10     Putter: :ping: Craz-e (original blue)


Posted

If the bulkhead defines the hazard then what is the call?   I play it as the ball did not cross the margin of the hazard if it hits into the bulkhead, even on top as in your case with the rocks.  It is a lateral hazard, but the only way that it would come into play as a lateral hazard is if you hit over the landing area and the ball sliced into the water in which case you would get relief under penalty from where the ball last crossed the margin or you could take one of the other two options. Anyone else?

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


Posted

Are there marker stakes or lines?  If so, then the answer is pretty simple...

If it's not marked, then the question hinges on what is the natural boundary of the water hazard.  I don't have any Decisions to back this up, but my understanding is that the water hazard is only the area that contains (or would occasionally contain) water, so the bulkhead would be outside the hazard.  The boundary of the hazard is the vertical plane extending up from the outermost extent of the water.  So if the ball hits the inside edge, some portion of the ball is inside the hazard, so it has not crossed out.  Only if it hits far enough onto the bulkhead that the ball is entirely outside the boundary would it have crossed the margin.

IMO there really ought to be markers or a statement on the scorecard for a case like this.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted

In my experience, if the course is marked properly, the bulkhead would be inside the margin of the hazard. If the bulkhead defines the hazard, then it is still inside of the hazard. If that were the case it would be a poor job of course marking as you can't tell if it is a water hazard or a lateral water hazard. Even if they had painted a line on top of the bulkhead, the ball would not appear to have crossed it before deflecting back into the hazard. With the info available, I would say that the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard on the side that is nearest the tee.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5449 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.