IGNORED

what is the role of right hand?

vman28
Note: This thread is 6369 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, everyone. I am fairly new to golf started in june of this year.And absolutley love the game. I went through several swing variations but finaly got some consitency with hitting straighter shots. My swing is based on left hand dooing everything, taking it back to swinging through. There is no great distance in my swing i can drive on average 230y 7-iron between 145-165( weird). so when i go for that extra distance and bring my right hand and wrist into equation everything gets messed up (hook). So my question is how do you reales the club and whats the role of right hand in relese? BTW i relese by flipping my left wrist like in five lessons by hogan. Thanks for the advice

My swing is based on left hand dooing everything, taking it back to swinging through. There is no great distance in my swing i can drive on average 230y 7-iron between 145-165( weird). so when i go for that extra distance and bring my right hand and wrist into equation everything gets messed up (hook). So my question is how do you reales the club and whats the role of right hand in relese? BTW i relese by flipping my left wrist like in five lessons by hogan. Thanks for the advice

Sounds like you've actually got the basics down pretty well. The role of the right hand in the golf swing is really just to serve as a guide and a provider of stability for the left hand. When you try to bring your right hand into the equation, you are manipulating the clubhead so that it moves off the swing plane and you probably are bringing in more of your right arm than you realize as well - thus creating some type of over-the-top motion and subsequently a hook.