IGNORED

Beginner and an instructions junky from Norway

Engervik
Note: This thread is 4945 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi,

I'm a beginner from Norway, started playing last fall and during the winter we don't get that much days for golf in Norway :p I got my set on a trip to Houston like 8 years ago and enjoyed hitting some balls outside the house and sometimes on the driving range but not more than a few times a year. After I started early September, I've been hooked and as long as its not snow I'm at the range two times a week. I've changed by swing more times than I have been on a course and have a serious problem with reading and watching too much instruction videos. I had a decent swing a while back and hate myself for changing it, its very frustrating (shanks, poor contact and all over the place). Still, love the game :D

I'm stressed because in a week I'm going to Spain with two buddies for 3 days of golf and my game is way off.

Tin Cup fan but not a big caddyshack fan (dont hate me)..

Velkommen!

Nice to see a fellow countryman in here. I'm going on a trip to Spain the last week this month to play golf for one week, really looking forward to it.

Too much instruction can indeed be a problem, especially if you don't understand what they are talking about or why. I'd recommend gettin some private lessons if you have money to spare on it, good way to get some direct feedback. Online instruction is difficult because there are so many things that can go wrong in a golf swing. There are different causes for shanks, slices and pulls. So one tip might work, but the next 10 not so much.

Where do you live by the way?