IGNORED

My Swing (simland)

simland
Note: This thread is 4669 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey All,

I was just looking for some general advice around swing mechanics.  I've been actively trying to get better for about 2 years now.  Mostly self taught and tuned.  If I avoid blow up holes, I can shoot high 80s.

Appreciate your input.

Right off the bat i see two things that i think could improve your game tremendously. #1 your left foot on the takeaway, and #2 the beginning of your downswing. If you try to keep your left foot planted it will result in more accurate shots, in the 9 iron face on section of the video, you can see the heel raise off of the ground, then re plant itself in a different position, this creates consistancy problems. try keeping your heel planted, less of a sway in backswing.

and another small issue is you come over the top on your downswing. Focus on letting your hands fall on your downswing, then feeling like you swing across the ball more to the right. it will create a little sidespin and give you a nice 5 yard draw, as well as make it easier to make crisp contact every time.

because of your angles it's hard to really diagnose, but phil mickelson, bobby jones, vijay sing, etc. have no problem with you lifting your heel slightly on the backswing as long as it doesn't throw you off balance. in your takeaway you're rolling your hands open instead of just pushing your arms back with your shoulders and lifting the club. usually this is indicative, at least in my experience, of a grip that is not sound.