Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Can you use two tees on a tee box during a round?


Note: This thread is 5055 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I agree that this would be against the rules of golf.

I played a guy back in AZ who was legally blind - and he found that tying a string to his tee really helped him pick his line and path to swing the club.  But he said he could no longer play in tournament events - because without the string - he couldn't easily decipher where he needed to aim/swing.  Kinda sad too because the guy as a Sr. golfer was pretty good.

This thread made me think back to this gentlemen, and I believe it would be viewed as an alignment aid which is against the rules.

.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

An interesting diversion.

The USGA Equipment department have ruled tees tied together are a single non-conforming device and illegal, as it may be used to indicate the direction of play.

The R&A; Rules department have ruled that they are multiple tees and are traditional and may be used, providing they are not set up to indicate the line of play.

They are widely used in Europe and Asia particularly in frosty weather or when the ground is very wet and mats are in use. The most popular form is three or four different height rubber or plastic cones with a small depression in the top.

http://www.gamolagolf.co.uk/acatalog/Jumbo_Winter_Rubber_Golf_Tees.html


  • 2 weeks later...
Posted


Originally Posted by LuciusWooding

If you use the tee to actually hit on the downswing, you're screwed. Unless there's some way you can plant dandelions a couple days in advance and use them, you'll have to wean yourself off. The dandelion thing can't be a smart idea, and it will likely get you shunned by the groundskeepers, plus you couldn't break the stems in your backswing or prior to the stroke.

Is the highlighted text right?

1) Is it not the case that breaking something (plant, twig) in the course of making a stroke (assuming the stroke is completed) does not matter - no rule infringement?

2) In this case we're talking about action on the tee box.  Often I have seen pros and others flatten ground behind their ball before playing or, on par 3s, rough up the ground and then place their ball on the raised portion - so breaking a dandelion before or after the stroke should not matter on the tee box?


Posted


Originally Posted by Alistair

Is the highlighted text right?

1) Is it not the case that breaking something (plant, twig) in the course of making a stroke (assuming the stroke is completed) does not matter - no rule infringement?

2) In this case we're talking about action on the tee box.  Often I have seen pros and others flatten ground behind their ball before playing or, on par 3s, rough up the ground and then place their ball on the raised portion - so breaking a dandelion before or after the stroke should not matter on the tee box?



2) Yes rule 13-2 " .....the player incurs no penalty if the action occurs: creating or eliminating irregularities of surface within the teeing ground or in removing dew, frost or water from the teeing ground."  You can dig hole with your heel, pile some dirt or sand up to rest your ball on, pull some daisy's, etc.  This is also mentioned in 11-1.

1)  Generally yes, however you have to be careful.  If the plant or twig is not fixed or growing, i.e a loose impediment in a hazard, you can't touch it during the back swing.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


I should add that it's irrelevant whether your ball is in play or not on the tee.  By that I mean the ability to fix irregularities is not just before you make your first stroke on the tee putting the ball in play, but also if you were to play your second stroke on the tee because you say whiffed it or dribbled the first stroke off the tee peg.

However, and someone can correct me, I believe were talking about the tee of the hole being played only and not other tees on the course which are "though the green".

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

2) Yes rule 13-2 " .....the player incurs no penalty if the action occurs: creating or eliminating irregularities of surface within the teeing ground or in removing dew, frost or water from the teeing ground."  You can dig hole with your heel, pile some dirt or sand up to rest your ball on, pull some daisy's, etc.  This is also mentioned in 11-1.

1)  Generally yes, however you have to be careful.  If the plant or twig is not fixed or growing, i.e a loose impediment in a hazard, you can't touch it during the back swing.



Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


Originally Posted by Dormie1360

However, and someone can correct me, I believe were talking about the tee of the hole being played only and not other tees on the course which are "though the green".


That is correct. Rule 13-2 says 'the teeing ground' and in Definitions this is limited to the teeing ground of the hole being played.


Posted


Originally Posted by Dormie1360

I should add that it's irrelevant whether your ball is in play or not on the tee.  By that I mean the ability to fix irregularities is not just before you make your first stroke on the tee putting the ball in play, but also if you were to play your second stroke on the tee because you say whiffed it or dribbled the first stroke off the tee peg.


You may only fix or create irregularities on the teeing ground when your ball is not yet in play.  So if you are playing a provisional or taking stroke and distance for hitting your first OOB then you may do anything that you could do before you played your first shot. If you played off a tee first time you don'y have to second time.

However if you ball is in play because you whiffed or dribbled then you must play the ball as it lies and cannot do anything which contravenes Rule 13. Improving lie, stance etc


Posted



Originally Posted by Rulesman

You may only fix or create irregularities on the teeing ground when your ball is not yet in play.  So if you are playing a provisional or taking stroke and distance for hitting your first OOB then you may do anything that you could do before you played your first shot. If you played off a tee first time you don'y have to second time.

However if you ball is in play because you whiffed or dribbled then you must play the ball as it lies and cannot do anything which contravenes Rule 13. Improving lie, stance etc


Hi Rulesman,

You don't have the rule quite right.  With regards to 13-2 and allowing to create or eliminate irregularities on the surface of the teeing ground, there is no requirement that you must only be putting the ball in play in order to use this exception.  A golfer could play a stroke off the tee which only travels 10 yards, play a second shot that hits a tree causing the ball to ricochet back to the teeing ground and then, with the ball back on the teeing ground, the player could, without penalty, press his foot on the ground behind the ball.

Just so happens I'm currently in a USGA/PGA rules seminar , and I had this exact scenario confirmed.

Regards,

John

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I found a Decision that should help.

Decison 13-2/2

Player Who Misses Tee Shot Presses Down Irregularities Before Next Stroke

Q. In playing a tee shot A misses the ball. Before playing his next stroke, A presses down turf behind the ball. Is this permissible, since the ball is in play?

A. Yes. Rule 13-2 permits eliminating irregularities of surface on the teeing ground, whether or not the ball is in play.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5055 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.