IGNORED

Taylormade Burner 2.0: Suitable for me?

Infil
Note: This thread is 4655 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi everyone, new to this forum.

I started golfing somewhat regularly in late August and bought a Tigershark starter set on sale. I'm still learning the game but I definitely enjoy it and I intend to golf once a week-ish next year, take a lesson or two at the start of the season, and generally try to improve. My best score this year was 100 on a par 72 links-style course, to give you an indication of my current skill level. I wasn't happy with the beginner driver that came with the set, since I am 6'3" and play hockey, so the high-flex shaft didn't suit me well. I waited until my local Golf Town had a large demo days sale, where I could get slightly used clubs for 40-50% off (which was just at the start of this week) and went down there with the intention of buying a new driver and possibly some new irons if an amazing set popped up at a great price.

Long story short, I came away having put on layaway a set of Taylormade Burner 2.0 irons (4-9, P, S, A wedges), a 3 hybrid (stiff shaft) and 9.5deg Superfast 2.0 driver (also stiff shaft), all at roughly half price. I decided to put them on hold while I did some research on the clubs before I invest a lot of money in something that might not be for me. All reviews I can find online for these clubs seem positive... I'm a beginner golfer with lots of room to grow, and I don't want to get clubs that will be impossible for me to hit right now, but also that I'll grow out of really fast as I improve next year. Swinging in the simulator at the store, I found I typically had about 100-105 mph swing speed on my driver, if that helps.