Jump to content
Note: This thread is 4706 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Yesterday, I and a fellow I was playing with both hit into the sand trap on a par three.  The balls ended up together, one in front of the other with about a half inch between them.  Since neither of us would be able to hit his ball without impacting the other I wonder what the rules state in a situation like this.

As it was, I just picked up my ball while he hit his, then replaced and hit mine since we were not competing nor keeping score.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

One of you should have marked and lifted you ball. That may have involved marking and the marking again to one side.

After the fist ball has been played, the lie of the other may be restored and the ball replaced and played.

NOTE: The lifted ball must not be cleaned when lifted o/w a 1 stroke penalty.

  • Upvote 1



Originally Posted by Rulesman

NOTE: The lifted ball must not be cleaned when lifted o/w a 1 stroke penalty.



What if the second ball moved the first.  Could he clean it?


Ignore this. [S]One ball moving another off the green doesn't mean anything. Play it as it lies.[/S]

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by Vladimir Puttin'

What if the second ball moved the first.  Could he clean it?



If you mean that the first ball was not lifted, then yes. The lie must be recreated and the ball replaced. But it may be cleaned.


One of you should have marked and lifted you ball. That may have involved marking and the marking again to one side.

After the fist ball has been played, the lie of the other may be restored and the ball replaced and played.

NOTE: The lifted ball must not be cleaned when lifted o/w a 1 stroke penalty.

Can the bunker be raked by player 1, before player 2 replaces and plays the 2nd bunker shot? What if player 1 hits his bunker shot and leaves a large divot or removed significant sand which alters player 2's bunker shot? This is why I ask about raking the bunker to smooth the sand before player 2's shot.

.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by Beachcomber

Can the bunker be raked by player 1, before player 2 replaces and plays the 2nd bunker shot?

What if player 1 hits his bunker shot and leaves a large divot or removed significant sand which alters player 2's bunker shot? This is why I ask about raking the bunker to smooth the sand before player 2's shot.



As I said.

"After the fist ball has been played, the lie of the other may be restored and the ball replaced and played"

Either player may do it.




Originally Posted by boston blackie

Yesterday, I and a fellow I was playing with both hit into the sand trap on a par three.  The balls ended up together, one in front of the other with about a half inch between them.  Since neither of us would be able to hit his ball without impacting the other I wonder what the rules state in a situation like this.

As it was, I just picked up my ball while he hit his, then replaced and hit mine since we were not competing nor keeping score.



Here is a short video showing the whole procedure actually happening in the 2003 Sr open.  Bob Murphy's ball was in the bunker, Hubert Green then hit his ball into the same bunker, moving Murphy's ball slightly.  Both balls ended up next to each other.

http://www.usga.org/RulesFAQ/rules_answer.asp?FAQidx=74&Rule;=18 Go to:

"Company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open"

The next video, " Moved by another ball" , shows a similar scenario in a LGPA event.  In this case the player could not clean her ball, because she replaced it under rule 18 (Deflected at rest) first and then lifted it under rule 22 (Interference).  She could have cleaned it when she first lifted it under Rule 18, but she didn't and put the ball back in it's original spot.  She then lifted it under the interference rule so the other player could play first.  In this case, because she lifted the ball and was holding it under Rule 22, she could not clean it.

It's a subtle difference that I'm sure would catch a lot of players.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by Rulesman

As I said.

"After the fist ball has been played, the lie of the other may be restored and the ball replaced and played"

Either player may do it.


Thank you for the clarification.  I didn't understand the use of the word restored.

.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4706 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Patrick Cantlay's strokes gained from 2024: I wonder if he takes more time on approach shots given that was the worst part of his game last season. And then here are his 2023 stats: Much better ball striking season. I wonder if there are any differences in his times between these two seasons. I tend to think he's just slow in general, but it'd be interesting to see his time differences.
    • Not sure, I think players have their own pace. Speith was always slow, regardless if he was in contention or not. Well, more so when he was in contention. It might be a push there on that question. 
    • Without knowing the study at all, this could be more of a reflection of who is tournament ready and who isn't. If you have a quick trigger, it could mean your swing is working really well. Fidgeting, lots of rehearsals, maybe means your swing's not functioning as well as you'd like it to and you need more time to feel it all out before you hit your shot.  
    • A study done by the European Tour shows spending less time over the ball produces better shots.  This makes sense. I can see where if you are over the ball a long time you lose the ability to make a more athletic swing. There is also the possibility of just overthinking the shot while over the wall as well and not being in the right headspace.
    • I recently picked up a vintage Ping Hoofer Lite carry bag.  I am not sure how old it is but estimate it is probably from around 2012 or so? I cannot figure out how to adjust the straps! I am going to try to attach a picture of the bag and will also describe it below. I cannot figure out how to adjust the straps in a way that makes the bag comfortable to carry.  The bag also seems to want to be more upright/ vertical than how you would normally carry a bag like this. I have tried to search this site and others on the web but almost all info is on the newer ping Hoofer bags which have quite a different design. The bag is pretty minimal in terms of pockets and has no handle on the top.  It has 2 backpack straps that are not connected to each other.  They are connected to the top of the bag and in the middle of the bag above the primary ball/ gear pocket. Any feedback appreciated, thanks for your help!  
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...