Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4927 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Most everyone knows that if you waggle and knock a ball off a tee before actually swinging, it's no penalty.

But what if one of these things happens?

1.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it oscillates but doesn't move.  (Pretty sure no penalty)

2.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it does move.  (I think this is no different than causing a ball to move on a putting green at address)

3.   Walking near your ball and accidentally bump and move ball with a club.  oops

Rule 18-2 states -    " touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball)"

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-18/

But both scenarios 2 & 3 are accidental - not "purposely".

Still - I think BOTH 2 & 3 are penalties, regardless.

More interesting - if you read the USGA rule linked above - it says it's 1 stroke.

But then - at the bottom that section - it says -

*PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

So - what's the deal?

  • Administrator
Posted

You left out "or causes the ball to move." Touching the ball and it not moving is not the same as causing the ball to move. If the ball moves while it is in play at the player's doing (or his caddie, and there are obviously exceptions like when marking the ball), it's a penalty.

The "purposeful" nature of 2 and 3 are irrelevant. The ball moved. The penalty is assessed in both cases.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by golfingal

Most everyone knows that if you waggle and knock a ball off a tee before actually swinging, it's no penalty.

But what if one of these things happens?

1.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it oscillates but doesn't move.  (Pretty sure no penalty)

2.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it does move.  (I think this is no different than causing a ball to move on a putting green at address)

3.   Walking near your ball and accidentally bump and move ball with a club.  oops

Rule 18-2 states -    "touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball)"

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-18/

But both scenarios 2 & 3 are accidental - not "purposely".

Still - I think BOTH 2 & 3 are penalties, regardless.

More interesting - if you read the USGA rule linked above - it says it's 1 stroke.

But then - at the bottom that section - it says -

*PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

So - what's the deal?

The deal is if you fail to replace the ball after causing it to move, the one stroke penalty is cancelled and a two stroke penalty is imposed for playing from a wrong place when Rule 18-2 requires it to be replaced.  One stroke if you replace it, two strokes if you don't.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4927 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 446 - 2025-12-20 Woke up early and got some swings in before teaching putting all day. Looking forward to doing the same tomorrow.
    • It's miles better, though.
    • Went up to Erie for a lesson. I still need to work on how I shift my weight into my right leg and turn into the right leg. I extend it too much and externally rotate it too much. That all causes me to over rotate the hips and cause weight shift issues in the downswing. I need to feel like my right leg gains flex (it doesn’t), and my knee cap faces forward. The right hip sinks back and right. I need a need a ton more internal rotation. I still have some right elbow issues in the backswing. The path is better, but too much right elbow bend. I need to maintain width in the right elbow and let my right shoulder retract more, let’s say at A3, which helps keep that right arm extended.
    • Day 130 12-20 Today was just swinging what i had and go from there. Did focus on getting to lead side. Recorded swings for lesson  and hit real balls. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.