Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
golfingal

Touching the ball with a club

3 posts in this topic

Most everyone knows that if you waggle and knock a ball off a tee before actually swinging, it's no penalty.

But what if one of these things happens?

1.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it oscillates but doesn't move.  (Pretty sure no penalty)

2.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it does move.  (I think this is no different than causing a ball to move on a putting green at address)

3.   Walking near your ball and accidentally bump and move ball with a club.  oops

Rule 18-2 states -    " touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball)"

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-18/

But both scenarios 2 & 3 are accidental - not "purposely".

Still - I think BOTH 2 & 3 are penalties, regardless.

More interesting - if you read the USGA rule linked above - it says it's 1 stroke.

But then - at the bottom that section - it says -

*PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

So - what's the deal?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

You left out "or causes the ball to move." Touching the ball and it not moving is not the same as causing the ball to move. If the ball moves while it is in play at the player's doing (or his caddie, and there are obviously exceptions like when marking the ball), it's a penalty.

The "purposeful" nature of 2 and 3 are irrelevant. The ball moved. The penalty is assessed in both cases.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by golfingal

Most everyone knows that if you waggle and knock a ball off a tee before actually swinging, it's no penalty.

But what if one of these things happens?

1.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it oscillates but doesn't move.  (Pretty sure no penalty)

2.   Waggle/address in fairway - touch ball before ever making a stroke, it does move.  (I think this is no different than causing a ball to move on a putting green at address)

3.   Walking near your ball and accidentally bump and move ball with a club.  oops

Rule 18-2 states -    "touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball)"

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-18/

But both scenarios 2 & 3 are accidental - not "purposely".

Still - I think BOTH 2 & 3 are penalties, regardless.

More interesting - if you read the USGA rule linked above - it says it's 1 stroke.

But then - at the bottom that section - it says -

*PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

So - what's the deal?

The deal is if you fail to replace the ball after causing it to move, the one stroke penalty is cancelled and a two stroke penalty is imposed for playing from a wrong place when Rule 18-2 requires it to be replaced.  One stroke if you replace it, two strokes if you don't.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Darts does have the advantage of being played in many venues where you can get a pint at any time during the game, as opposed to golf, where you only get the reward when you're done.  Unless you're in the US, of course, where many courses have a roving bar-cart to help you enjoy your round.
    • Furyk getting tight under Ryder Cup pressure could well be true or at least partly true. That critique seems partly true of the U.S. squad in general, doesn't it? Bubba's record is comparably poor at 3-8-0. Considering his dominance and winning percentage in stroke play and beat the field average, Tiger's Ryder Cup record isn't too stellar either. I'm just saying that Furyk (& Tiger too) may not have been used as smartly by the Captains as say, Luke Donald given his relative strengths and weaknesses. Donald tended to be sat for fourball where Furyk played both formats about the same amount, and maybe not with the right complementary partners for the foursomes. When Donald's relative approach game and putting (& birdie/bogie ratio) ranking slipped in 2014 he wasn't picked for the Euro team, because it seems his relative potential contribution (producing birdies) in alternate shot / foursomes had diminished.   Furyk Donald   SG-Tee SG-Putt SG-Appr SG-ARG Bird/Bog Bird+ % Bog Avd SG-Tee SG-Putt SG-Appr SG-ARG Bird/Bog Bird+ % Bog Avd 2016 -0.294 0.195 0.458 0.285 121 165 69 -0.583 0.060 0.645 0.449 82 181 16 2015 0.064 -0.024 1.081 0.513 15 83 8 -0.793 0.289 0.573 0.514 121 171 46 2014 0.121 0.091 1.175 0.408 5 97 1 -0.493 0.517 0.315 0.351 93 108 93 2013 0.023 0.092 0.950 0.323 25 78 14 -0.459 0.528 0.583 0.628 45 42 58 2012 0.225 0.423 0.830 0.275 9 145 1 -0.188 0.818 0.582 0.430 13 66 7 2011 -0.017 -0.160 0.643 0.190 77 147 32 0.040 0.870 1.094 0.273 1 4 1 2010 0.150 0.402 0.641 0.367 21 76 21 -0.506 0.870 0.661 0.464 16 109 9 AVG 0.039 0.146 0.825 0.337 39 113 21 -0.426 0.565 0.636 0.444 53 97 33 10-'13 0.095 0.189 0.766 0.289 33 112 17 -0.278 0.772 0.730 0.449 19 55 19 Furyk's record is horrible in the better ball / fourball format. I think that may be due to his relative lack of distance where it's harder for him to contribute much and bogey avoidance (his strength) is less important than making birdies. I expect Furyk's often been set up in a fourball pairing like Kuchar and Watson in '14 where the relatively short, but good putter / short game guy (Kuchar) was expected to complement the long hitter (Watson). Watson and Kuchar made many birdies, but still got smoked by two superior ball-strikers with average putting due to the better ball / fourball format. Rose's excellent short game helped that team in the alternate shot/foursomes format where their ball-striking was maybe less of an overt advantage than in better ball.
    • Yeah. Their products have been really solid. The 5C was iffy, but then again, the price was dirt cheap (relatively speaking). I may or may not be working for a company that supplies parts for them now, so I hope they get more popular.
    • It's all part of the deal. Especially when you are golfers like us (note my HI). Look at it this way. A couple of weeks ago I traveled three hours to our TST outing in Norwalk, OH and proceeded to barf on my shoes for 18 holes solid. Had one of my best rounds last week. It happens. Get away from it for a bit, get over it and when you come back you'll do better.
    • This sounds really really dull.  The kind of dull I'd really like to get used to seeing n my own game. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Jason141
      Jason141
      (27 years old)
    2. ngreed86
      ngreed86
      (30 years old)
  • Blog Entries