IGNORED

New, with a few questions

Fore Left
Note: This thread is 4471 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm one of those  "Was good at one point,  but make too many mistakes to score well now"  type of players....     I started playing less and less because of things going on  (College etc)  and ultimately after college I played sporadically and in leagues etc, until finally hanging up the towel for 2 full seasons,  and then picking up the sticks at the end of the following season,  so basically I took 3 years off,  and now this season it's even more evident that I've been away from the game!

In my hey-day  I was a single-digit handicapper,  and now,  since I'm hitting good shots,  but far too inconsistently,  I find myself REALLY struggling to put together scores.

I'm not big on switching up equipment  (ordered my first new pair of shoes today,  and I had the previous pair for 17 years.... yep,  you read that correctly...   they came with metal spikes,  and I loved them,  so I had a cobbler re-size them once,  and to this day I wouldn't say they are  "worn out"  )

I don't carry any fairway woods/rescue clubs.    My clubs are the main point of concern I have right now,  because I think they're costing me strokes since my game has fallen off so badly   (and I've lost distance so I can't hit my 3 iron as far as I once did)

My equipment:

Great Big Bertha,   8 degree driver with an extra-stiff shaft w/ stiff tip.   (oversized grip,  as I have arthritis, and I actually prefer the feel)

Titleist  990B irons    I guess they're considered a "Blade"  style,  although they're not true blades like others I've seen,  but I know they're less forgiving than cavity backs.