Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 6724 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
here is the situation. A's ball is about 9 yards in front of B's ball in the fairway. B hits his shot and takes a muddy divot which lands on A's Ball and slightly moves the ball.

Here are the questions-- After the divot is removed, Can A replace his ball? Can he clean it?

What's in the bag:

Driver: Adams 9064LS (project RIP Shaft) 9.5 degree
3 Wood: Titleist 909R 14.5 degree
Hybrid 3-iron: 19 degree Tour Professional (bent to 18 degrees)Hybrid 4-iron: 21 degree Tour ProfessionalIrons: Tour X-20 5-PW Project X 6.0 shaftsGap Wedge: Mizuno MP10 52.08 Sand Wedge: Mizuno MP10 58.10 Lob Wedge: Nike 62.06


Posted
I'd say that Player B was an outside agency, but it could also be taken as a rub of the green. Any rules honcho here who knows exactly how it goes? (I'd say the former - interpretation of the rules can save you three strokes a round, guaranteed).
"Shouldn't you be going faster? I mean, you're doing 40 in a 65..."

Driver: Burner TP 9.5*
3 Wood: 906F2 15*
2I: Eye 23I-PW: 3100 I/HWedges: Vokey Spin-Milled 56*06, MP-R 52*07/60*05Putter: Victoria IIBall: Pro V1xCheck out my new blog: Thousand Yard DriveHome Course: Kenton County...

  • Administrator
Posted
here is the situation. A's ball is about 9 yards in front of B's ball in the fairway. B hits his shot and takes a muddy divot which lands on A's Ball and slightly moves the ball.

I believe rule 18-4 covers you:

18: Ball at Rest Moved 18-4: By Fellow-Competitor, Caddie or Equipment in Stroke Play If a fellow-competitor, his caddie or his equipment moves the player’s ball, touches it or causes it to move, there is no penalty. If the ball is moved, it must be replaced. (Playing a wrong ball — see Rule 15-3.)

I believe you can re-create the lie you had. I'm not entirely certain on the cleaning procedure, but it's unlikely you get to clean it unless a big blob of mud that wasn't there before is now stuck to your ball.

I quickly scanned the Decisions list and didn't see much that applied.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I think that the answer is "yes" on replacing it and cleaning it. Equity and being entitled to the lie you got when your shot finished seem to apply, though I couldn't spot a decision that addresses this specific condition... The separated divot seems to be an outside agency in this situation -- though it's a loose impediment when at rest. From

http://www.usga.org/playing/rules/rules_of_golf.html :
18-1/8 Ball Moved by Stone Dislodged by Partner’s or Opponent’s Stroke Q. In match play, a player played a stroke and dislodged a large stone. The stone struck his partner’s or an opponent’s ball which was lying about four yards ahead and moved it. What is the ruling? A. The stone was an outside agency and Rule 18-1 applies. The partner or opponent must replace his ball. In the circumstances, the player should not be held to have moved the ball. Accordingly, Rules 18-2a(i) and 18-3b are not applicable and no penalty is incurred.

13-2/8.5 Player’s Lie Affected by Sand from Partner’s, Opponent’s or Fellow-Competitor’s Stroke from Bunker Q. A’s ball is on the apron between the green and a bunker. A’s partner, opponent or fellow-competitor (B) plays from the bunker and deposits sand on and around A’s ball. Is A entitled to any relief? A. Yes. A is entitled to the lie and line of play he had when his ball came to rest. Accordingly, in equity (Rule 1-4) he is entitled to remove the sand deposited by B’s stroke and lift his ball and clean it, without penalty.

Cleveland - HiBore XL (9.5* Fuji Fit-On Gold Stiff)
Bobby Jones/Jesse Ortiz - 3W & 21* H3 (Stock Stiff)
Ben Hogan - Apex FTX 4-FW (Apex 4 shafts)
TaylorMade - rac TP 56.12 satin & 60.6 black
Scotty Cameron - Mil-Spec Newport 2 (33" standard)

Note: This thread is 6724 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.