• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
Tontj5

RR Donnelly Founders Cup Preview & Pairings

Recommended Posts

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Tontj5    4

Here are the first round leaders:

1 Ai Miyazato -9 F
2 Jee Young Lee -7 F
3 Candie Kung -6 F
3 Gerina Piller -6 F
3 Pornanong Phatlum -6 F
3 Brittany Lang -6 F
7 Sandra Gal -5 F
7 Jiyai Shin -5 F
7 Katherine Hull-Kirk -5 F
7 Lexi Thompson -5 F

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tontj5    4
Here are the leaders after round 2.

1 Jee Young Lee -15 F
2 Ai Miyazato -14 F
3 Stacy Lewis -11 F
4 Danielle Kang -9 F
4 Amy Yang -9 F
4 Lindsey Wright -9 F
4 Candie Kung -9 F
4 Gerina Piller -9 F
9 Daniela Iacobelli -8 F
9 Cristie Kerr -8 F
9 Anna Nordqvist -8 F
9 In-Kyung Kim -8 F
9 Sandra Gal -8 F

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Beachcomber    204

The penalty called on Stacy Lewis today was pretty lame.  I don't know how her Caddy walking into the sand trap, and looking at her lie is considered testing the sand?  Seriously, that was one of the more bizarre penalties I've seen called on a golfer in quite some time.  And the worst part is that it wasn't even called by a playing partner, or rules official... It was someone watching on TV who called into the LPGA and Golfchannel and complained.  Then the officials reviewed the video and called the penalty.

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/randall-mell/penalty-makes-lewis-road-to-no-1-more-difficult/

In a late blow, Lewis was robbed of some momentum when she was informed of a potential rules issue as she left the 18th green. Lewis and her caddie, Travis Wilson, marched into a TV truck where they watched a video review that showed Wilson had violated Rule 13-4 by testing the surface of a hazard when he walked into a bunker at the 16th hole.

Instead of a bogey-free 66, Lewis posted a 68.

Wilson ventured into the bunker, apparently to check her lie. Television viewers called both Golf Channel and LPGA rules officials to point out that Wilson appeared to test the surface of the sand. Lewis ended up skulling her shot from that bunker over the 16th green and off a TV tower. She salvaged what she thought was a par, but she would learn differently walking to the scoring tent after her round.

Rules officials informed Lewis that Wilson may have violated Rule 13-4, but they wanted Lewis and Wilson to go to the TV truck to review replays.The replay shows Wilson stepping into the bunker and turning and pivoting in the sand. Curiously, Lewis can be heard wondering aloud about the depth of the sand while he is in there. It was a damning sequence.

“I don’t think Travis went into the bunker to test the sand,” said Sue Witters, LPGA vice president of rules and competition. “I think it was just a reaction.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

iacas    4,174

There's a thread in the Rules forum about this.

Seems like the penalty was properly applied to me. Caddies shouldn't do that. It was weird that he did.

http://thesandtrap.com/t/65542/testing-a-hazard-stacy-lewis-founders-cup/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

GaijinGolfer    84

Yeah, that one is all on her caddy.  You cant step into the bunker and then pivot your foot to test the firmness of the sand.  Her caddy should know better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Golfingdad    1,850
Originally Posted by Beachcomber

The penalty called on Stacy Lewis today was pretty lame.  I don't know how her Caddy walking into the sand trap, and looking at her lie is considered testing the sand?  Seriously, that was one of the more bizarre penalties I've seen called on a golfer in quite some time.  And the worst part is that it wasn't even called by a playing partner, or rules official... It was someone watching on TV who called into the LPGA and Golfchannel and complained.  Then the officials reviewed the video and called the penalty.

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/randall-mell/penalty-makes-lewis-road-to-no-1-more-difficult/

In a late blow, Lewis was robbed of some momentum when she was informed of a potential rules issue as she left the 18th green. Lewis and her caddie, Travis Wilson, marched into a TV truck where they watched a video review that showed Wilson had violated Rule 13-4 by testing the surface of a hazard when he walked into a bunker at the 16th hole.

Instead of a bogey-free 66, Lewis posted a 68.

Wilson ventured into the bunker, apparently to check her lie. Television viewers called both Golf Channel and LPGA rules officials to point out that Wilson appeared to test the surface of the sand. Lewis ended up skulling her shot from that bunker over the 16th green and off a TV tower. She salvaged what she thought was a par, but she would learn differently walking to the scoring tent after her round.

Rules officials informed Lewis that Wilson may have violated Rule 13-4, but they wanted Lewis and Wilson to go to the TV truck to review replays.The replay shows Wilson stepping into the bunker and turning and pivoting in the sand. Curiously, Lewis can be heard wondering aloud about the depth of the sand while he is in there. It was a damning sequence.

“I don’t think Travis went into the bunker to test the sand,” said Sue Witters, LPGA vice president of rules and competition. “I think it was just a reaction.”

I realize there is a thread dedicated to this, but since I'm responding to Beach, I'm choosing to post here. :)  I tend to agree with you in a sense.  Although, I totally agree with the ruling based on the rule as it exists ... it seems like a silly rule in this case.  And, even though its about testing the ground, I tend to think that this was mostly called not because of the actual testing but because of the fact that it was the caddy and not the player.  Because, really, is it that different than when the player is taking their stance?  In the grand scheme of things, is he learning anything at all that she wouldn't learn when she's walking through the bunker, and especially when she's planting her feet and taking her stance?

On the other hand, I will freely admit that I'm sort of arguing just for the sake of arguing, because, otherwise I'd have to have an alternative option to the rule.  But it's such a fine line between allowing what happened yesterday and just allowing players and/or caddies to dance around in the bunker Gangnam Style, I think the rule is fine as-is.

I'll just chalk this up to an unfortunate "lesson learned the hard way" for Lewis, her caddy, and hopefully several other players present and future.  (And, yes, I blame Lewis too a little more than the caddy because she summoned him into the bunker) :)

I'll be rooting for her to overcome the penalty today and win ... or hopefully lose by at least 3 shots to the cute-as-a-button Ai Miyazaki. :)

Bright side LPGA:  You got us talking a little bit about you today instead of Justin Leonard!!!!

P.S.: Don't even get me started on the whole "good samaritan fan calls the tv network to call the penalty on a player" thing.  That stuff should not happen unless I get to call CBS and inform then that Santonio Holmes DID NOT get two feet down in bounds (or some other more personal stuff regarding the Padres that nobody else would remember anyway, because, well, its the Padres)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

iacas    4,174
Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Because, really, is it that different than when the player is taking their stance?

Yes. A player is allowed to take their stance. They aren't allowed to wiggle their feet in away from their stance, nor is there any rule about a caddie being allowed to take a firm stance.

If you do away with that rule about testing the conditions, c'mon - they'll be digging trenches nearby to see how firm or soft the ball is. You're not even allowed to ground your club in a hazard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Golfingdad    1,850
Originally Posted by iacas

Yes. A player is allowed to take their stance. They aren't allowed to wiggle their feet in away from their stance, nor is there any rule about a caddie being allowed to take a firm stance.

If you do away with that rule about testing the conditions, c'mon - they'll be digging trenches nearby to see how firm or soft the ball is. You're not even allowed to ground your club in a hazard.

Hey, no fair!  Did you not read past my first paragraph??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

iacas    4,174
Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Hey, no fair!  Did you not read past my first paragraph??

I did. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

sofingaw    11
Damn, pressure shot there that Miyazato hit into the desert! Rough to see. Lewis tasted that blood like a mako though, and looks like she will take it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

iacas    4,174
Damn, pressure shot there that Miyazato hit into the desert! Rough to see. Lewis tasted that blood like a mako though, and looks like she will take it!

The 16th hole deals in karma this week. If you don't think she deserved the penalty yesterday then she was repaid today with Ai's mistake.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

sofingaw    11
Originally Posted by iacas

The 16th hole deals in karma this week. If you don't think she deserved the penalty yesterday then she was repaid today with Ai's mistake.

Certainly a crazy game, this 'golf'!

Not to knock Streelman or Boo, but I thought that finish was better than the men's this week. More dramatic at least with #16 and the change in Ladies' World #1.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • I started my son playing golf when he was 4 yrs old. Now he's 14 and 5'10. He's play'd in a youth program, local youth tournaments, and summer camps up till 2 years ago. He had been playing club travel basketball for the past 2 years. He wanted to start playing again, but he'd grown out of his junior clubs. So I bought him a used set of Callaway X-18 iron and some Callaway woods. We started going to the range a couple of weeks ago. He's had one lesson with his long time youth golf coach. He's hitting a nice draw, but just raw potential. We played a twilight round yesterday, and he surprised me. He realized all the sudden how much power he has with a driver in his hands. He started slicing his drives but keeping them in play. He even out drove me on a few holes. He was hitting greens, but his putting was all over the place. We came to a 170 yd par 3 that's over a deep ravine. He walks up to the tee, drops his ball and hits and 8 iron. He hit it pin high 10' right of the pin. I hit 7 iron short of the green, and bogied the hole. He par it:)  It's so much funner for both of us playing golf together vs. watching him play basketball and me yelling at him. 
    • No one has ever said golf was fair. Golf is the most frustrating sport I have ever played. But isn't that what makes us come back? 
    •   I've been Playing Golf for: 3 years seriously
      My current handicap index or average score is: 37
      My typical ball flight is: right to left or a heavy hook
      The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: Anything with a hybrid I am trying to copy Moe Norman's swing within reason.  I have a lot of physical limitations in the area of coordination, balance and flexibility.  My hands shake in a fairly small way, but still 24-7.  The reason I have chosen the Moe swing is because based on everything I have read, watched and studied the swing appears to have less moving parts and is based around what would appear to be good biomechanics.  I have with an Instructor from the Graves Golf Academy who I have worked with and have several of their DVD's and training aids.  I now just need to put the pieces together.     I also use a Biomech Acculock Putter  in order to control my hand shakes on the green.  I am hoping to use both these tools to make my game both more repeatable and more consistent.   My stats are available here: https://www.gamegolf.com/player/wpgstriker I will try and post a video tomorrow and other videos as I go through the learning process for this swing.  I understand that many people don't care for Moe's swing and that's fine, but that is the one I am going for. For at least the next 12 months I am committing to it.  If you want to join me on this journey please be welcome.  If you have questions about the swing or Moe please throw them at me.  I would love to discuss.     Videos:   
    • The fickle winds of fate. F**k you leaf.  
    • I'm 6'7. Walking into a golf shop, looking at all those nice new irons and knowing that you'll never be able to play most of them really sucks. You can only look at the best forged irons. So Mitzuno blades (which I have), or a muscle back modified blade. That's it! 6 degrees upright puts tall guys in no mans land. Super upright swing too. Hitting a draw is pretty hard. High fade is my shot. I've got over 35 years of dealing with it. I would say long heavy arms don't help anything. Let's not even get into size 15 shoe designs on the clearance rack:)  I can hit long balls, but it's always been awkward to hit my short irons a solid distance. I tend to play a 3/4 swing for accuracy. Hit my head on the roof of the golf carts all the time.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. StevenR84
      StevenR84
      (33 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon