Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4557 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Just curious, what if that happened in his downswing. If he swung and missed, or swung and hit the other person's ball. I believe he would have made a stroke, or assessed a penalty for hitting another person's ball right?

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

No penalty, see rule 14-5. Playing Moving Ball.

Not sure if he hits the other ball, but I would imagine both get placed back to nearest there original positions.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Well, its interesting on the 2nd ball right, it would still be moving, so it never came to rest, so that ball would be played from were ever Carl hits it right?

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by saevel25

Well, its interesting on the 2nd ball right, it would still be moving, so it never came to rest, so that ball would be played from were ever Carl hits it right?

I would think so, otherwise it would impossible to determine where to put it.

I don't think this would be covered by any specific rule and the local officials would have to make a call.  If he did hit it, you could say Carl played the wrong ball, but I don't think that would be the ultimate ruling.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If Carl had continued with his stroke and accidentally hit the other ball whilst it was moving then Rule 19-1 (Ball in motion deflected by outside agency) would apply and the other ball would be played from wherever it finished.  Petterson wouldn't be penalised for playing a wrong ball as he didn't make a stroke at the other ball - he made a stroke at his ball.

Decision 1-4/1 deals with the situation where a player is distracted by a fellow competitor dropping a ball accidentally, causing the player to top his shot.  The decision is that distractions are a common occurrence and players must accept them.  It seems that Carl's stroke, had he made one, would have counted.  As Carl's ball at rest was moved by an outside agency (the other ball) it should be replaced.


Note: This thread is 4557 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.