Jump to content
IGNORED

Original ball, provision ball... R&A Rule 27-2c?


Dabzy
Note: This thread is 3935 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Here's my dilemma, a few times I've drove a ball off the tee box (Or hit from the fairway/rough, but will use the tee shot as an example), and was unsure where it landed further up the hole, so, I've then played a provisional ball (Or, on the odd occasion have walked back to the teebox/fairway/rough to rehit another ball after the original one had been lost)

Now, I've been told by some that if I look for my original ball, and cannot find it, then call "I'll play my provisional", then afterwards, someone stumbles upon it before I take the next shot, I have to abandon the original ball, take the penalty and carry on (So, the provisional is now the ball in play) because I've called it

But then, I've been told from others that if I say "I'll play my provisional", and someone finds it before I take the next shot, well, my ball isnt lost any more, and thus, have to abandon my provisional and play my original ball as I find it (No penalty)

Whats the actual procedure for such a setup?

Thanks in advance :)

Dabz

*Damn... Spelling mistake in the title... D'oh!!! :D

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Dabzy

Here's my dilemma, a few times I've drove a ball off the tee box (Or hit from the fairway/rough, but will use the tee shot as an example), and was unsure where it landed further up the hole, so, I've then played a provisional ball (Or, on the odd occasion have walked back to the teebox/fairway/rough to rehit another ball after the original one had been lost)

Now, I've been told by some that if I look for my original ball, and cannot find it, then call "I'll play my provisional", then afterwards, someone stumbles upon it before I take the next shot, I have to abandon the original ball, take the penalty and carry on (So, the provisional is now the ball in play) because I've called it

But then, I've been told from others that if I say "I'll play my provisional", and someone finds it before I take the next shot, well, my ball isnt lost any more, and thus, have to abandon my provisional and play my original ball as I find it (No penalty)

Whats the actual procedure for such a setup?

Thanks in advance :)

Dabz

*Damn... Spelling mistake in the title... D'oh!!! :D

The provisional ball only becomes the ball in play if one of the following occurs:

1)  The allowed 5 minute search expires

2)  You play a stroke with the provisional ball from a point at or closer to the hole than the spot where the original ball is thought to be.

A simple statement of intent is not sufficient to make it the ball in play.

  • Upvote 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thank you fourputt, really appreciate you answering that for me, its been doing my noggin in for a few weeks now as I simply had no clue what the hell to do in the situation! ;)

Your a good'un! ;)

Dabz

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Dabzy

Thank you fourputt, really appreciate you answering that for me, its been doing my noggin in for a few weeks now as I simply had no clue what the hell to do in the situation! ;)

Your a good'un! ;)

Dabz

There is actually a third condition, but I was answering your specific question about a lost ball.  If your original ball is found out of bounds, that would also put the provisional ball into play.

  • Upvote 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, I've never argued against that one, once it's gone beyond the white markers... Its game over for that little fella! :)

Dabz

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Hi Dabzy,

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Johanna

Hi Dabzy,

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

I have never been one to want to have to call a penalty on someone.  I don't know how many times I have seen someone reach in their pocket or get another ball out of their bag and not say a word.  When that happens, I will always ask them "Are you going to play a provisional ball?"  If they say yes, I tell them to announce it.

  • Upvote 2

Bag: Titleist
Driver: TM RBZ 9.5
Fairway metals: TM RBZ 3 wood
Hybrids: TM RBZ 3, 4 and 5
Irons: TM Burner 1.0 6 thru LW stiff steel shafts
Putter: Ping B60
Ball: TM Tour Preferred X or ProV1x
Check out littlejohngolfleague.com  A Greater Houston TX traveling golf league.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by RickK

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johanna

Hi Dabzy,

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

I have never been one to want to have to call a penalty on someone.  I don't know how many times I have seen someone reach in their pocket or get another ball out of their bag and not say a word.  When that happens, I will always ask them "Are you going to play a provisional ball?"  If they say yes, I tell them to announce it.

This would be me too.  I don't let them make the stroke, then ask.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hi Dabzy and Fourputt,

That's the way to play golf! In fact we tell starters to either ask if it is a Provisional Ball or advise players to play a P.B. if the tee shot goes wayward.

Referees will do the same.

Regards, Johanna

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 3935 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Looking to play in the Severna Park Golf league and it got rained out the first three weeks. I know the course is being renovated so it is not in great shape but the location is easy for me and I would love to meet some other golfers in my area. Anyone here in Maryland Annapolis area? 
    • I like to look at the positives.  Overall you are fairly consistent down the center with most shots 20 yards or less off center.  On most fairways that should be in play.  Sure, you had some very short duds, but also if you look there is a good cluster in the 110-125 yard range.  Sure, we would all like to be longer, but knowing your typical shot is more important than trying to hit the 7-Iron 175 Yards.  Just take more club for longer shots and do not worry about it.  Your distances may increase as you improve over time so do not get caught up on that now.
    • Day 552, May 7, 2024 Played nine holes with @NatalieB with irons only from her tees. Didn't really finish out any holes, just hit the irons and approaches and some chips.
    • What has gone downhill? Have you been practicing properly, filming your swing, working on exactly what he suggested without straying? My thoughts are that your results/outcomes from a lesson a year ago probably aren't all that relevant anymore.  And carry distance is far more important than total distance. Total distance is going to vary significantly based on course conditions.
    • One thing that has helped me tremendously is to spray the club face with foot powder when I am on the range. Seeing ball impact can be quite helpful if you are hitting shots all over the place. It's not the cure all, but a good little thing to do on the range. The other thing, and I will forget to do it, is the pre-shot routine. Find me a spot a foot or so from the ball in-line with my target, take my stance, take the swing.  Sometimes you take a BS practice swing with no thought. Make it deliberate.  As far as swing thoughts. I have 3 check-points. First is set-up, Second is my take away, Third is my downswing. I cant explain what I think I just know in my mind. Its a feeling that I have that feels right and experience has shown that if I follow those 3 thoughts more than likely the outcome will be what I was looking for. Now, thinking about the feeling and executing it properly is a whole different thing, that;s why I practice, I used to be over a 20 handicap, I am down to a 15.1 in about a year.  I feel like its good progress. the goal is a 10 by the end of the year. If I make it great, if not, hey at least Im not in Gaza. LOL
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...