• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
Dabzy

Original ball, provision ball... R&A Rule 27-2c?

Recommended Posts

Here's my dilemma, a few times I've drove a ball off the tee box (Or hit from the fairway/rough, but will use the tee shot as an example), and was unsure where it landed further up the hole, so, I've then played a provisional ball (Or, on the odd occasion have walked back to the teebox/fairway/rough to rehit another ball after the original one had been lost)

Now, I've been told by some that if I look for my original ball, and cannot find it, then call "I'll play my provisional", then afterwards, someone stumbles upon it before I take the next shot, I have to abandon the original ball, take the penalty and carry on (So, the provisional is now the ball in play) because I've called it

But then, I've been told from others that if I say "I'll play my provisional", and someone finds it before I take the next shot, well, my ball isnt lost any more, and thus, have to abandon my provisional and play my original ball as I find it (No penalty)

Whats the actual procedure for such a setup?

Thanks in advance :)

Dabz

*Damn... Spelling mistake in the title... D'oh!!! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Originally Posted by Dabzy

Here's my dilemma, a few times I've drove a ball off the tee box (Or hit from the fairway/rough, but will use the tee shot as an example), and was unsure where it landed further up the hole, so, I've then played a provisional ball (Or, on the odd occasion have walked back to the teebox/fairway/rough to rehit another ball after the original one had been lost)

Now, I've been told by some that if I look for my original ball, and cannot find it, then call "I'll play my provisional", then afterwards, someone stumbles upon it before I take the next shot, I have to abandon the original ball, take the penalty and carry on (So, the provisional is now the ball in play) because I've called it

But then, I've been told from others that if I say "I'll play my provisional", and someone finds it before I take the next shot, well, my ball isnt lost any more, and thus, have to abandon my provisional and play my original ball as I find it (No penalty)

Whats the actual procedure for such a setup?

Thanks in advance :)

Dabz

*Damn... Spelling mistake in the title... D'oh!!! :D

The provisional ball only becomes the ball in play if one of the following occurs:

1)  The allowed 5 minute search expires

2)  You play a stroke with the provisional ball from a point at or closer to the hole than the spot where the original ball is thought to be.

A simple statement of intent is not sufficient to make it the ball in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thank you fourputt, really appreciate you answering that for me, its been doing my noggin in for a few weeks now as I simply had no clue what the hell to do in the situation! ;)

Your a good'un! ;)

Dabz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dabzy

Thank you fourputt, really appreciate you answering that for me, its been doing my noggin in for a few weeks now as I simply had no clue what the hell to do in the situation! ;)

Your a good'un! ;)

Dabz

There is actually a third condition, but I was answering your specific question about a lost ball.  If your original ball is found out of bounds, that would also put the provisional ball into play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, I've never argued against that one, once it's gone beyond the white markers... Its game over for that little fella! :)

Dabz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Dabzy,

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Johanna

Hi Dabzy,

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

I have never been one to want to have to call a penalty on someone.  I don't know how many times I have seen someone reach in their pocket or get another ball out of their bag and not say a word.  When that happens, I will always ask them "Are you going to play a provisional ball?"  If they say yes, I tell them to announce it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by RickK

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johanna

Hi Dabzy,

Just make sure you announce your intention of playing a provisional ball off the tee. If you forget, the ball played becomes the ball in play.

I have never been one to want to have to call a penalty on someone.  I don't know how many times I have seen someone reach in their pocket or get another ball out of their bag and not say a word.  When that happens, I will always ask them "Are you going to play a provisional ball?"  If they say yes, I tell them to announce it.

This would be me too.  I don't let them make the stroke, then ask.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hi Dabzy and Fourputt,

That's the way to play golf! In fact we tell starters to either ask if it is a Provisional Ball or advise players to play a P.B. if the tee shot goes wayward.

Referees will do the same.

Regards, Johanna

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • What has changed? The length-lie dependency has been removed by changing color code bands to an “S-shape”. Each color code has a fixed lie angle irrespective of club length. This removes the need for converting color codes when using non-standard-length clubs with the AFS system. Color codes have moved to 1° increments to simplify lie-angle offerings. Yellow and Purple color codes have been removed. Updated length recommendations better align static recommendations with dynamic fitting results. Height columns are now scaled for easier use and overlaps are removed. How is it more precise? By analyzing over 20,000 fittings from our nFlight database, combined with years of research, we have made data-driven changes to better align static and dynamic fittings, particularly with respect to players’ length recommendations. 75% of players will fit to a dynamic color code within one of the new static recommendation compared to 70% previously, while 95% will fit within two color codes compared to 90% on the previous color code system. How is it simpler? Removing the length-lie dependency eliminates the need to convert color codes when building AFS heads at over/under standard length. It also removes the need to convert back when ordering clubs at over/under standard length after a fitting using our AFS system. Removing height overlaps and scaling eliminates ambiguity. Plotting height and wrist-to-floor measurements for a static recommendation is more intuitive.
    • I get down to the Phoenix are 3 or 4 times a year and golf everytime.   it all really depends on what time of year you go.  If its summer, you can get on anywhere for a decent price.  If it's winter you've got to look around to find something decent and affordable.   without regard to price, my favorites are:  Greyhawk (both courses equally)
      Wi-ko-pa (both courses equally)
      Troon North (monument)
      Gold Canyon (Dinosaur).  --to be fair though, the greens at Gold Canyon are not in the same shape as the others, but it is cheaper---
      Ak-Chin Southern Dunes I don't hate TPC, but I probably wouldn't play it again.  too many better courses for similar price down there.     If I go in peak season, I like Longbow in Mesa, for an affordable course. 
         
    • I agree with this. A "quiet end" of the driving range would be great for me. When I was in college I never could understand those people who could watch TV and do homework, or listen to music while they study.. I always needed to be in the quiet part of the library to get anything done.   
    • You can get something in the middle, a little forgiveness, a little playability. Something like the Titleist AP3 or the Ping i-series, or even the Callaway Epic. You don't have to go straight blade to get some playability.
    • I voted one, but I am not really sure it's  even a swing thought. My final thought is I want the ball to land in a chosen area, out there. Those landing areas get smaller the closer I get to the hole.  Once I pick a landing area, I just walk up, set up, swing, and hit the ball. This is pretty much the same scenario when I practice. I just swing the club with out thinking about it. I either hit a decent shot, or I don't. No big deal. Once it's done, unless it's really great shot, it's forgotten about, and I am on to the next shot. 
  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Aldo Aitken
      Aldo Aitken
      (27 years old)
    2. Also Aitken
      Also Aitken
      (27 years old)
    3. CJK
      CJK
      (59 years old)
    4. Greg55
      Greg55
      (62 years old)
    5. sbhebert
      sbhebert
      (36 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon