IGNORED

New 3 wood. suggestions/help?

jcrew
Note: This thread is 6114 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I currently have a ping i3 3 and 5 wood. I can barely hit them (I'm sure my inconsistent fairway wood swing doesn't help but even my teacher hit them and he said he lost 20 yards off of his current clubs on a flush hit) so I'm going to trade them in and buy a new 3 wood. I don't need a 5 wood as I have a 19 degree hybrid that I hit just as far if not farther.

I want something that is fairly easy to hit but as I get better with my wood, something that'll be workable enough and give me room for improvement as well as motivation to improve on that club. On all my other clubs I have a fairly decent, consistent swing and I can shape my shots decently when I need to. (what kills my scores are short game and bad course management). Definitely looking for as much ease of use off the deck as on the tee.

So far I'm leaning towards the taylormade r7 steel. The only thing holding me back is that I don't have one of those wrenches or what not and I'm sure I'd have to change the weighting to a fade as I usually hit draws and I don't want to start hooking. The wrench doesn't come with the club but I can either buy one or find someone who has one and use it just for the one change.
Also in my mind is the burner tp, callaway x, and cleveland hibore. Your thoughts on each and any other suggestions?
(i'm going to a golf shop on tuesday to try out all those)

XTD Pro - 9.5* - GD YSQ
GS Tour - 15* -GD Red Ice
Rescue TP - 17* - Fujikura TP
Idea Pro Gold - 20* - Mitsubishi JavlnFX
MP-30, 4-PW - Standard Lofts / 2* flat - TT DG RAC Z TP (54*/10*) X-Forged (60*/10*)Scotty Cameron TeI3 - 35"

The Bobby Jones are so easy to hit. The shallow face of the club makes it easy to slide right under it...I love it.