Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4283 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Perhaps you should take a look at Decision 25/3

Q.A player's ball plugged deeply in short rough. No casual water was visible on the surface, but the pitch-mark in which the ball came to rest was filled with water. Was the player's ball in casual water?

A.Yes.

There is no suggestion  here that the fact that the ball is deeply plugged would result in relief not being allowed.  Its just not an issue.

But as we've discussed above the ball was not in its "pitch mark" because it never left the ground in the discussed case but otherwise you'd be correct

Henry

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I thought the the conversation had diverted to the suggestion that you could not take relief from casual water in the rough if the ball was embedded and was responding to that.

As you rightly say, in the original question the ball was not embedded. You would not be entitled to lift the ball to see if there were water and so  only  if water were visible around the ball after it had been driven into the ground, could you decide it was in casual water.


Posted
I thought the the conversation had diverted to the suggestion that you could not take relief from casual water in the rough if the ball was embedded and was responding to that.

I wonder why you did that as I was only referring to the situation at hand..?

What about D20-1/0.7:

20-1/0.7
Lifting Ball to Determine Application of Rule
Q. May a player lift his ball to determine whether he is entitled to relief
under a Rule (e.g. to determine whether his ball is in a hole made by a
burrowing animal or is embedded)?
A. In equity (Rule 1-4), if a player has reason to believe he is entitled to
relief from a condition, the player may lift his ball, without penalty, provided
he announces his intention in advance to his opponent in match play or his
marker or fellow-competitor in stroke play, marks the position of the ball
before lifting it, does not clean the ball and gives his opponent or fellowcompetitor
an opportunity to observe the lifting. (continues)

So you are saying that if there is CW under the ball touching it there is no relief as the water is not visible before lifting the ball? How does that fit to the Definition of CW:

Casual Water
“Casual water” is any temporary accumulation of water on the course that
is not in a water hazard and is visible before or after the player takes his
stance.
Snow and natural ice, other than frost, are either casual water or loose
impediments, at the option of the player. Manufactured ice is an obstruction.
Dew and frost are not casual water.
A ball is in casual water when it lies in or any part of it touches the casual
water
.

Also note the words in the Dec 25/3 you referred to ' the pitch-mark in which the ball came to rest was filled with water. ' It does not say if the ball was lifted or not to see that the pitch-mark was filled with water.


Posted

20-10.7 would not apply as it is known that his ball is not embedded because 25-2/6 tells us so.


Posted
I would submit that 20-1/0.7 is applicable - it entitles the player to lift his ball to determine whether he is entitled to relief under a Rule - in the case at hand, it would be to determine whether his ball was in casual water.

Posted
20-1/0.7 would not apply as it is known that his ball is not embedded because 25-2/6 tells us so.

I wonder where you got that? Embedding is only one of the two options mentioned in the Dec, it certainly does not cover all the possible situations where the Dec would apply.

Would you care to explain your view?


Posted

So, at this point

- Rulesman says that it is NOT allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7 because the ball was not embedded.

- Colin L says that it IS allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7 because the ball was not embedded.

- Rogolf says that it IS allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7

Who are we to believe here?


Posted

So, at this point

- Rulesman says that it is NOT allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7 because the ball was not embedded.

- Colin L says that it IS allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7 because the ball was not embedded.

- Rogolf says that it IS allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7

Who are we to believe here?

Interested to see what the actual answer would be

Henry

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

So, at this point

- Rulesman says that it is NOT allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7 because the ball was not embedded.

- Colin L says that it IS allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7 because the ball was not embedded.

- Rogolf says that it IS allowed to invoke D20-1/0.7

Who are we to believe here?

Firstly, set aside my digression into an embedded ball in casual water ( I was led astray, honest. ;)  ) and concentrate on the original situation which does not involve an embedded ball.  That means set aside the reference to Decision 25/3 which is about an embedded ball and is therefore not applicable.

On the question of being allowed to lift this ball out of its hole to establish if it is in casual water, where did I say the player could invoke D20-1/0.7?  What I said was As you rightly say, in the original question the ball was not embedded. You would not be entitled to lift the ball to see if there were water.

You even quoted that and then asked me what  about D20-1/0.7!

My view is that you have no legitimate reason for  lifting the  ball: there is no water visible, therefore there is no casual water. (That's how it meets the Definition of casual water.  If you can't see it, there isn't any.


Posted

If I understand correctly there is no visible water?

I think I'm leaning with Rulesman. I don't think you can go looking for casual water that doesn't fit the definition of casual water or D25/3.  I do see  a difference between this and D20-1/0.7.  In 20-1/0.7 the fact that the ball was there had nothing to do with whether or not the condition was there.

In our case, there is no condition......unless you dig your ball out of the ground......i.e.  digging the ball out is creating the condition.

Just MHO....could be wrong. :-)

Edit:  Just saw Colin's response,   I think we are agreeing?

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by ColinL

On the question of being allowed to lift this ball out of its hole to establish if it is in casual water, where did I say the player could invoke D20-1/0.7?  What I said was As you rightly say, in the original question the ball was not embedded. You would not be entitled to lift the ball to see if there were water.

You even quoted that and then asked me what  about D20-1/0.7!

My view is that you have no legitimate reason for  lifting the  ball: there is no water visible, therefore there is no casual water. (That's how it meets the Definition of casual water.  If you can't see it, there isn't any.

If I read you right a player has no legitimate reason for lifting his ball if he does not already know he is entitled a relief. Well, that is not what D20-1/0.7 says, so I have to disagree with you.

What if a player's ball is plugged in the ground and another person lifts it without authority and the hole is filled up with casual water while the ball is being lifted? Is the player to replace his ball and pretend there is no CW?


Posted

Yes

Just saw Colin's response,   I think we are agreeing?

We are indeed.  But we have  Rogolf's view that the player may lift (or maybe it should be dig his ball out)  to see if there is any water in the hole because he is entitled to do so to  check if he can seek relief.   I see a strength in that argument but feel distinctly uncomfortable about it without, at the moment, being able to construct an argument.  Later maybe.   At the moment, I'm thinking that I might (just might!)  concede the argument provided it were accepted that there must be some visible evidence that there may be a condition that would allow relief.


Posted

I feel that 20-1/0.7 is a powerful Decision meant to permit the player to lift the ball (employing the proper procedure) if there's any likelihood that he might be entitled to relief under a Rule.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

What puzzles me is that if a ball is genuinely plugged, there is no room for any water so the ball cannot be in casual water. If there is no water on or rising to the surface when a stance is taken, where is this casual water?


Posted
What puzzles me is that if a ball is genuinely plugged, there is no room for any water so the ball cannot be in casual water. If there is no water on or rising to the surface when a stance is taken, where is this casual water?

Did you read my question in the last paragraph of my post #29? What say You?

Or let us take a more plausible scenario. My ball is plugged in and I wish to identify it. I inform my fc, mark the position and lift it. And voilá, the pitch-mark is (half)filled with water! What am I to do? Just stick it in and declare it unplayable? Chunk half of the territory with my SW to get the ball up? Sit down and cry? Ask the referee? Order a pizza?

Please help me!!!!


Posted
I feel that 20-1/0.7 is a powerful Decision meant to permit the player to lift the ball (employing the proper procedure) if there's any likelihood that he might be entitled to relief under a Rule.

"If there's any likelihood"  is the kind of qualification  I was reaching towards when I said I might concede if there were other evidence for the possibility of a condition existing that would afford relief. If there were none - a ball plugged without the slightest sign of water around about it or your feet when taking  stance, I don't think a player should just be allowed to dig out his ball on the outside chance some water might appear.


Posted
Decision 20-1/0.7 permits a player to lift his ball (following the prescribed procedure) "if he has reason to believe he is entitlted to relief" (quote). If the ground is soft and mushy, the player has good reason to believe that there may be casual water present. Obviously he doesn't need to see casual water in order to believe he may be entitled to relief; seeing it around the ball or his feet guarantees that he is entitled to relief.

Note: This thread is 4283 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.