Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Aguirre

I have room for a club in my bag, what should I get?

9 posts in this topic

Currently, the clubs I use and their distances:

Driver: 230-240, the rest of the clubs measured off the dirt:

3W: 210

5W: 195

7W: 182

9W: 170

6I: 160

7I: 150

8I: 140

9I: 130

PW: 120

SW: 100

LW: 80

I can step on all those clubs and get an extra five yards if I have to.  I just do a lower finish and draw them a bit.

Currently I have a 5I in my bag but since it goes about the same distance as the 9W and I hit the 9W better it gets reserved for punch shots.  I pull it about once every five rounds or so.

I'm thinking of getting a 64 degree wedge.  I'm not very good at taking distance off clubs, so I have real trouble sometimes from the 50-60 yard distance.  I often end up just hitting a REALLY HARD pitch and I don't think it's very productive.

Do you agree that this is probably my best plan?  And does anyone have experience with a 64?

Thanks in advance.

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I suppose you could go with a GW as well... Something for that 110 yd range.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, but that seems to be less of a problem.  50-60 yards seems more common.  Third shot on Par 5s, forced (or unintentional) layups on Par 4s.  Plus, knocking 10 yards off a 120 yard club (8.3%) is easier than knocking 20-30 yards off an 80 yard club (~31.25%).

At least, that's the way it seems to me.

I've got a 64° and can hit it about 45-50 max. One thing I will say is that it will get the up and up and up. And it will land soft dead on a dime. I typically use it closer to the green for flops and super-flops or to get out of really really deep bunkers.