• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jeremie Boop

Good purchase or ?

4 posts in this topic

Originally put this in my swing thread but realized it was really something that was more suited to this thread:

So, since the weather isn't cooperating today and I'm still waiting on my evolvr lesson I decided to be productive. I went to the range and tried out a bunch of different clubs to replace the nike vr2 pro 18* 2 hybrid I have that I can't hit for crap. After about 1 1/2 hours of hitting balls and process of elimination I settled on one and purchased it. Funny thing was, it was one of the last clubs he grabbed for me to try and one of the first I hit. I hit it so well and consistent that I couldn't believe it. Here are some pictures:

There was no comparison between how I hit this club and the nike I have. Overall it wasn't as cheap as I had hoped but for 210 with that shaft in it I can't complain too loudly I think. What do you guys think, good purchase for the price?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I have 2 of the 910's and love them. Not the most forgiving hybrids out there, but great clubs.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have 2 of the 910's and love them. Not the most forgiving hybrids out there, but great clubs.

I thought it would be tough to hit when he handed it to me, for no other reason than because it's a titleist and I always associated those clubs with better players. Strangely enough I hit it so much better than every other club he had given me *I hit a total of 8 different clubs* that it was shocking. The only other club I hit nearly as well was a cobra bio cell fw, however that club had a regular stiffness shaft and didn't have the carry + roll that this thing did. It was so strange because I'd hit this club about 3 or 4 balls then grab another club and was almost never able to hit a good shot. Switch back to this one and hit a good shot on the first swing again... I don't think I've ever experienced anything like that before.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I thought it would be tough to hit when he handed it to me, for no other reason than because it's a titleist and I always associated those clubs with better players. Strangely enough I hit it so much better than every other club he had given me *I hit a total of 8 different clubs* that it was shocking. The only other club I hit nearly as well was a cobra bio cell fw, however that club had a regular stiffness shaft and didn't have the carry + roll that this thing did. It was so strange because I'd hit this club about 3 or 4 balls then grab another club and was almost never able to hit a good shot. Switch back to this one and hit a good shot on the first swing again... I don't think I've ever experienced anything like that before.

I love my 913.Hd. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • 27/6   Player Unable to Find His Ball Because Another Player Played It Q.A and B hit their tee shots into the same general area. A found a ball and played it. B went forward to look for his ball and could not find it. After a few minutes, B started back to the tee to put another ball into play. On the way, he found A's ball and knew then that A had played his (B's) ball in error. What is the ruling? A.In match play, A lost the hole (Rule 15-3a). In stroke play, A incurred a penalty of two strokes for playing a wrong ball and must then play his own ball (Rule 15-3b). A's ball was not lost even if A and B had been searching for more than five minutes because A had not "begun to search for it (his ball)"; the searching had been for B's ball - see Definition of "Lost Ball." On the other hand, B began to search for his ball as soon as he went forward to look for it. If less than five minutes had elapsed before B found A's ball, B should have placed a ball on the spot from which A had wrongly played his (B's) ball and continued play, without penalty - see last paragraph of Rule 15-3b. However, if five minutes had expired, B's original ball was lost and he was obliged to put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).
    • No offense, but in my opinion this makes you unprepared to discuss it.
    • Every year, something is changed in a club design.  The real differences are minimal, assuming your current clubs are from within the last 10 or so years (just throwing out a random number).

      However, I just got upgraded to the Ping G driver from the Ping G30, and the big change I noticed is the face of the driver has a bit more friction on the G (at least as I understand it).  What it seems to do is reduce side spin, while retaining normal-ish back spin (I use the low-spin tec version).  When I miss-hit a drive with my old driver vs the newer one, I see noticeably less slice or hook with the newer version.
        When I go through those articles, I mostly read through the reviews of them.  It gives a better idea of what might be better.
    • Right, but then you're just getting into however different people value different things (including money, the performance of their golf clubs, the looks of the golf clubs, the value of a name brand, etc.). People have different values. For something like this, there's rarely any agreement on those, nor is there any "right" or "wrong" answers. I use a set of muscle backs that could just as easily be from the 1950s as now. The tech on those isn't really improving much (though the shafts are undoubtedly much better).
    • We went round and round a bit on this last year, but I don't remember seeing decision 15-3b/1 mentioned.  The difference between this decision and 27/6 seems to be that B's ball is found in a timely manner.  The finding of the "other" ball makes it virtually certain that A's ball was moved by an outside agency (Player B).  In the other thread, B's ball is never found.  27/6 allows the same kind of relief as long as the "other" ball is found within the 5-minute search limit.  As I read the rules and decisions, this is a timing issue,  the rules require a decision to be made within 5 minutes of beginning the search for A's ball.  If the "other ball" isn't found, its presumed lost.   In a way this is somewhat similar to another discussion we had, where a player's ball apparently hit a cart path and went much further than anticipated.  He searched and didn't find it at the expected distance, went back and played another tee shot for the lost ball, and eventually found the original much closer to the green.  He couldn't then put the original into play and "negate" the second tee ball, as he'd already searched for 5 minutes. I don't know if the difference in the timing of the discovery is adequate justification for the different outcomes, but that seems to me to be the defining factor.  It would be interesting to get the take of some of the USGA rules experts on this, not on what the rules say, but on why they draw the distinction.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (46 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (25 years old)
    3. ElsieOlson
      ElsieOlson
      (77 years old)
    4. Matt66
      Matt66
      (26 years old)
  • Blog Entries