Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Question about partially marked lateral hazard


Note: This thread is 3700 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

So today, I blocked a drive toward some woods. Saw no stakes and hit a provisional assuming it would be a lost ball.

When I got around where my ball would have been I saw it was swampy and there were red stakes. along the woods parallel to the fairway.

Then I walked back to where the drive crossed the boundary of the woods and there were no stakes per the simple diagram below. If the boundary stops and it hasn't been crossed then even though the ball sits behind the hazard line relative to the fairway, am I exempted from playing water hazard rules?

 

golf rules question diagram.PNG

Kevin


Posted

It must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the hazard.  If not, then it is a lost ball.  Because of the woods before you get to the hazard, I'd say that you lacked the necessary certainty.  It may be that the part of the hazard that your ball may have crossed was not intended to be a lateral water hazard.  It may be intended to be a regular water hazard, thus, the red stakes do not extend past the end of the water/swamp.  Hard to be certain since I'm not there and cant see the layout for myself.

  • Upvote 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The lateral water hazard is not well marked.  The line should continue round between the wood and the swampy area.  But where the marking of of the margin a water hazard is inadequate, you can’t escape proceeding under water hazard rules.  Your ball last crossed the margin of the hazard at A in this amended diagram and I would consider that it is a water hazard at this point, not a lateral water hazard.

water hazard.jpg


Posted
7 hours ago, ColinL said:
  Reveal hidden contents

 

The lateral water hazard is not well marked.  The line should continue round between the wood and the swampy area.  But where the marking of of the margin a water hazard is inadequate, you can’t escape proceeding under water hazard rules.  Your ball last crossed the margin of the hazard at A in this amended diagram and I would consider that it is a water hazard at this point, not a lateral water hazard.

water hazard.jpg

Imo, the player would have to find the ball in the hazard area to convince me that it crossed at A.  Without finding the ball, it's a lost ball.

  • Upvote 1

Posted

The woods part was open enough in some spots to allow playing out. It was completely dry. The swamp and woods was like 25% open water and 75% woodsy.

So any non-casual water (flooded ditch e.g.) even if unmarked is a water hazard? So as soon as I was virtually certain the ball was in the water, the provisional became the ball in play under stroke and distance? That's how I played it. It's possible that there were some markings along the boundary between the woods and the swamp, but it was so thick with brush that I couldn't see any from the margins. I knew the 2nd ball played from the tee would be better anyway so just continued.

Kevin


Posted
47 minutes ago, natureboy said:

The woods part was open enough in some spots to allow playing out. It was completely dry. The swamp and woods was like 25% open water and 75% woodsy.

So any non-casual water (flooded ditch e.g.) even if unmarked is a water hazard? So as soon as I was virtually certain the ball was in the water, the provisional became the ball in play under stroke and distance? That's how I played it. It's possible that there were some markings along the boundary between the woods and the swamp, but it was so thick with brush that I couldn't see any from the margins. I knew the 2nd ball played from the tee would be better anyway so just continued.

Imo, you proceeded correctly.  It was not known or virtually certain that your ball was in the water hazard.  Read Decision 26-1/1 for the standard to establish knowledge or virtual certainty.  It's not whether you personally are certain, it's an analysis of the situation and surrounding conditions.


  • Administrator
Posted
1 hour ago, natureboy said:

So any non-casual water (flooded ditch e.g.) even if unmarked is a water hazard? So as soon as I was virtually certain the ball was in the water, the provisional became the ball in play under stroke and distance? That's how I played it. It's possible that there were some markings along the boundary between the woods and the swamp, but it was so thick with brush that I couldn't see any from the margins. I knew the 2nd ball played from the tee would be better anyway so just continued.

Small point… you do not get to use a provisional if your ball is in the water hazard. Provisionals are just for lost or OB.

So you played it properly (because it was lost), but wouldn't have played it properly if it was virtually certain to be in the hazard (i.e. if you saw a splash, etc.).

I agree with others that you likely couldn't be virtually certain the ball was in the water. Though we haven't seen the "woods" you put on your drawing.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, rogolf said:

Imo, the player would have to find the ball in the hazard area to convince me that it crossed at A.  Without finding the ball, it's a lost ball.

No disagreement there.  I was answering on the basis of his knowing his ball was in the water hazard as the arrow on the diagram indicated.

Edited by ColinL

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, rogolf said:

Imo, you proceeded correctly.  It was not known or virtually certain that your ball was in the water hazard.  Read Decision 26-1/1 for the standard to establish knowledge or virtual certainty.  It's not whether you personally are certain, it's an analysis of the situation and surrounding conditions.

All I saw was that it went into thick trees. Could have gone anywhere. Any water was obscured from the tee and the stakes were not visible, so no chance of seeing a splash if there was one. All I knew from the tee was that is was almost definitely lost in a thicket.

The arrow on the diagram is an estimate of its likely final position based on where I saw it cross the tree line in the air and about how far I estimated its carry, Given the thickness of the trees where I saw it go down it could have bounced anywhere, but was fairly likely in the swampy bit.

@iacas the woods were slightly open nearer me, but thickened considerably about 15 - 30 feet in from the treeline - thick enough so that the water in the swamp was not visible nor the landing of the ball.

Edited by natureboy

Kevin


Posted

With that clarification, there is no doubt that your ball was lost.  You did not have virtually certainty that your ball was in the water hazard when you say “all I saw was that it went into thick trees."

My reply is only applicable to a situation where the ball certainly went where the  arrow points.


Posted

That's what I thought, but wanted to clarify if it mattered discovering the hazard stakes after the fact.

If I knew about the hazard and could see the margin and was virtually certain it plunked (appx landing spot well withing the margins). Could I still hit three from the tee without going forward or do the rules require a search first?

Obviously if I were ever to play a tournament I would have the course map to clarify - and I expect the course would be better marked.

Kevin


Posted
13 minutes ago, natureboy said:

That's what I thought, but wanted to clarify if it mattered discovering the hazard stakes after the fact.

If I knew about the hazard and could see the margin and was virtually certain it plunked (appx landing spot well withing the margins). Could I still hit three from the tee without going forward or do the rules require a search first?

Obviously if I were ever to play a tournament I would have the course map to clarify - and I expect the course would be better marked.

You always have the option to hit three from the tee. If you knew it was in the WH one option is stroke and distance. (26-1a)


Posted
21 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

You always have the option to hit three from the tee. If you knew it was in the WH one option is stroke and distance. (26-1a)

But is a search required to be virtually certain if you didn't see it land in the hazard or a tree could have bounced it well away to rule out the small possibility that it's outside the hazard?

Kevin


Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, natureboy said:

But is a search required to be virtually certain if you didn't see it land in the hazard or a tree could have bounced it well away to rule out the small possibility that it's outside the hazard?

A search is not required.

Virtual certainty comes into play when deciding whether or not the ball is in the water hazard.  You look at the conditions such as wind, dryness of the course, how well the ball is flying that day, thickness of the trees, etc.  You also consider the trajectory of the ball.  You look at the surrounding terrain.  For example, some water hazards have nothing but tightly mowed grass around them, and in that case, if the ball isn't in the hazard, one would see it.  Other water hazards are surrounded by deep grass, bushes, cattails, trees, etc.  You might even consider the position of the sun - i.e. if you were looking directly into the sun, you might have a lot of doubt about how well you tracked the ball's flight.  If you have others with you, you consider their opinions too.

With all that information, you ask yourself one question:  "Is there any place the ball could be other than in the hazard?"

If the answer to this question is "yes," then your ball is lost. 

As a side note, given what you've described, there's likely no way I'd allow you to claim virtual certainty.  A ball hit into the trees can literally go anywhere.

Edited by wadesworld

Posted
19 minutes ago, natureboy said:

But is a search required to be virtually certain if you didn't see it land in the hazard or a tree could have bounced it well away to rule out the small possibility that it's outside the hazard?

No search is necessary, and, as Rule 27-1 says, a player may proceed under stroke and distance at any time.

The tricky part is if you want to play a provisional instead of proceeding directly under stroke and distance.  You can only play a provisional for a ball which may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, and you must announce that you are playing a provisional (use the word provisional).  If your original ball is then found, regardless of whether its in a water hazard or outside a water hazard, you must abandon the provisional ball and continue with the original. 

If it is known or virtually certain (not your own "virtually certain", but as explained in Decision 26-1/1) that your original ball is in a water hazard, you are not entitled to play a provisional.  If you do play another ball when it is known or virtually certain that your original ball is in a water hazard (or lateral water hazard), your original ball is lost and your second ball is the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.  In that case, even if you find your original ball, either in or out of the water hazard, it's irrelevant and you must continue with the second ball.

 


Posted (edited)
36 minutes ago, rogolf said:

No search is necessary, and, as Rule 27-1 says, a player may proceed under stroke and distance at any time.

The tricky part is if you want to play a provisional instead of proceeding directly under stroke and distance.  You can only play a provisional for a ball which may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, and you must announce that you are playing a provisional (use the word provisional).  If your original ball is then found, regardless of whether its in a water hazard or outside a water hazard, you must abandon the provisional ball and continue with the original. 

If it is known or virtually certain (not your own "virtually certain", but as explained in Decision 26-1/1) that your original ball is in a water hazard, you are not entitled to play a provisional.  If you do play another ball when it is known or virtually certain that your original ball is in a water hazard (or lateral water hazard), your original ball is lost and your second ball is the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.  In that case, even if you find your original ball, either in or out of the water hazard, it's irrelevant and you must continue with the second ball.

 

But from what Erik said, it sounded like I could incur some sort of penalty other than stroke and distance just for calling it a provisional if there was a chance it was in the hazard. Or if my fellow competitor / opponent were themselves virtually certain (or at least claimed to be) that the ball was in the hazard, would that make my 2nd ball off the tee automatically 3 rather than my 'declared provisional'? Does their opinion count requiring me to determine what their POV is before I hit the 2nd ball off the tee?

Edited by natureboy

Kevin


Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, natureboy said:

But from what Erik said, it sounded like I could incur some sort of penalty other than stroke and distance just for calling it a provisional if there was a chance it was in the hazard. Or if my fellow competitor / opponent were themselves virtually certain (or at least claimed to be) that the ball was in the hazard, would that make my 2nd ball off the tee automatically 3 rather than my 'declared provisional'? Does their opinion count requiring me to determine what their POV is before I hit the 2nd ball off the tee?

After re-reading Eric's message, I don't think he is saying anything different than what I tried to say.  If you were to announce "I'm playing a provisional as my ball may be lost outside a water hazard" when it is not virtually certain that your ball is in a water hazard, your opponent/FC will have no recourse - you are correctly playing a provisional.  You do not need their "permission" to play a provisional.  "May" is very broad.

Edited by rogolf

Posted
1 minute ago, rogolf said:

After re-reading Eric's message, I don't think he is saying anything different than what I tried to say.  If you were to announce "I'm playing a provisional as my ball may be lost outside a water hazard" when it is not virtually certain that your ball is in a water hazard, your opponent/FC will have no recourse - you are correctly playing a provisional.  You do not need their "permission" to play a provisional.

Okay good clarification. What if he saw it plunk and I didn't. Am I bound to use his 'available information'?

Kevin


Note: This thread is 3700 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.